We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ellingham House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ellingham House to your Saves list
Ellingham House
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Woodland Park West, Colwyn Bay LL29 7DR, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Colwyn Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“1st Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We struggle to find somewhere that will take pets, AND, is actually nice to visit. This ticked both the box's.
However saying Ellingham House is 'nice', is not really fair. It is superb.
Very good service, and friendly to boot. The food was 1st Class. The venue was excellent.
Thanks

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    16
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
40
145
16
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

A great Guest House find! Furnished to a very high standard and immaculately clean, this is a real gem in Colwyn Bay. In a quiet location, but only 200 yards from the A547, and less than 5 minutes from the A55.
Ellingham House has a lot of style, and Ian and Chris are great hosts. Superb breakfasts.
Definitely on the 'must go back' list !!

Room Tip: Our Room 2 was very spacious and overlooked a Bowling Green on one side, and the garden on the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Beautiful and homely. Inviting energies. The decor was exceptional. This was a last minute booking for us en route to a nearby wedding, and gratefully we were not disappointed. The hosts are truly friendly, cooked a wholesome breakfast and are very child friendly. We would unreservedly recommend this place to anyone visiting this region.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
did48, Owner at Ellingham House, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Many thanks for the review. Pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and you had a good time at the wedding, it was a busy weekend for us all with the Forties event on aswell.

Hope to see you again.

Regards

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We visited in March - and although cold and damp outside, we received a warm welcome. Incredibly comfortable accommodation, lots of luxury touches in the room - brilliant and luxurious warm bathrooms - such a pleasure to use. The breakfasts weren great and so substantial if required. Excellent hosts. So very welcoming and comfortable. Will visit again.CAZ

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
did48, Owner at Ellingham House, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hope to see you again and many thanks for your comments.

Regards

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

What can be said that hasn't already? The charm of the place was equally matched by the charm of the owners. The room was spotless, the breakfast was wonderful, the decor a delight. The owners have obviously set out to set themselves apart from the competition by providing a 5 star hotel feel in a 5 star B&B. There are many little touches of thoughtful luxury that you wouldn't expect and I suspect that the owners are well travelled themselves and know what is provided at the better establishments. Parking was ample on site and the location perfect with the town centre only a few minutes walk away. I tried my best to find fault but to no avail! A little gem which we will certainly be visiting again.

Try the mountain zoo, only 0.9 of a mile away, a great day out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
did48, Owner at Ellingham House, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments, Many thanks and hope to see you again one day.

Regards Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here 15–17 March and we couldn't have asked for better. Our room was very tastefully and sympathetically decorated, as well as being spotlessly clean (as was the en suite). Really friendly owner and delicious breakfasts!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
did48, Owner at Ellingham House, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Many thanks for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your few days staying with us and hope to see you again.

Many thanks

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at Ellingham House last weekend and despite the snow we had a great time. We stayed in room 2 which was much larger than I expected and was really comfortable . The power shower was fabulous and the bed was really comfortable, I had the best nights sleep. We loved the nice little touches such as having china tea cups and saucers as well as a little teapot in the room . Our dog was made to feel welcome too, there were a couple of walks direct from Ellingham house. The woods at the back was the easiest but we went along "The hidden Valley" starting at Nan t y Glen which was about 5 miles which wasn't easy in the snow but some beautiful views along the way. There is a short walk along the sea front too. Colwyn Bay was quiet but that was probably because of the snow! We found it a challenge to find somewhere to eat with our dog as many pubs that served food did not allow dogs. It was o.k to leave our dog in the car whilst we had breakfast at Ellingham house as we could see him through the window but I didn't want to leave him whilst we had diner. We ate in a pub/hotel which was just past the rugby ground and about 15 minutes walk from Ellingham house. The food was great "pub grub" and my husband says that the beer was good! I can't remember it's name so search dog friendly pubs before you go or log on via wi fi at Ellingham House. The breakfast was a perfect start to each day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
did48, Owner at Ellingham House, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hello

Many thanks for the review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and your dog of course!! woof woof!

Hope to see you again soon

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ellingham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellingham House

Address: Woodland Park West, Colwyn Bay LL29 7DR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Colwyn Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Colwyn Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellingham House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star and 2012 Gold Award winner (by Visit Wales). Ellingham House offers luxury bed and breakfast accommodation, with large spacious bedrooms, modern bathrooms and grand breakfast room. We are only a 3 minute drive from the A55 and 5 minute walk from the town, station and promenade, which has many restaurants. Ellingham House offers luxury accommodation with an informal atmosphere, so whether you are staying for business or pleasure you can be assured of a great stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ellingham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellingham House Colwyn Bay, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ellingham House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.