We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“little Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Lion Inn

White Lion Inn
Llanelian-yn-Rhos | Old Colwyn, Colwyn Bay LL29 8YA, Wales
+44 1492 515807
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 67 Restaurants in Colwyn Bay
Price range: $11 - $26
Cuisines: Vegetarian, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The White Lion is possibly the oldest country Pub and Restaurant in North Wales with parts of the building reputed to date back over 1200 years. We offer a wide selection of food from sandwiches to beautiful home cooked food, fine wines, and cask conditioned real ales, all served up in a friendly relaxed atmosphere.
Horwich, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Four of us spent a wonderful evening eating and drinking in this lovely old Inn. The real ales were great and the food was delicious. I can highly recommend this pub for anyone visiting the area

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    20
    7
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
horwich
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“What a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Had the pleasure of spending the evening at the white lion whilst staying at the Ffarm country house Hotel.
Seldom do you stumble across such a perfect little treasure.
We arrived early on a wild windswept evening to find the pub closed, within minutes the landlord had opened up the pub and we were sat enjoying our drinks in front of a roaring fire.
We ate at the pub on recommendation of our Hosts at the truly amazing Ffarm hotel and were not disappointed. Excellent food, brilliant ales, Perfect host and incredible atmosphere.
If this was our local we would never be out of it,
Big Thank you to the landlord for a very enjoyable evening.(thanks also for the solo trumpet rendition of Happy Birthday, Very much appreciated)
Got to be one of THE BEST pubs in the country

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not worth the drive.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is another pub,resturant we used to frequent. It was very good.
Last visit,very disapointing! cold,both in temperature and welcome, food,which used to be really worth going for,now mediochre,and served in a really souless dining area. Again regulars at the bar more important than strangers there to eat.
A great shame as the building is ancient and has an interesting history.It is in a spectacular setting with amazing views. What a waste.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaCole, Owner at White Lion Inn, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Although our staff do not recall your visit, I am very disappointed that you were not satisfied. We ask every customer if they are happy with service and meals and take action if they are not satisfied. Having been a visitor on many occasions you must know what the restaurant looks like and it is far from soulless? Our food is sourced from the same local suppliers whenever possible and has been for some time. If you would like to call in and discuss it with me I shall happily refund you in full.

Kind regards

Nina Cole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice pub, with great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Visited Friday night during our stay in Colwyn Bay; so impressed by the pub, food and service that we returned on the Saturday night. On both visits we enjoyed the choice of food and it's quality. They catered for my wife's allergy without any issues. The service was great and we really enjoyed the atmosphere; would certainly visit again when in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice pub, shame about the grub.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The pub looks good and the atmosphere was decent with plenty of people in on a Saturday night. My plate arrived. Now a brief caveat: if you aren't too fussy with food; if, for instance, a Tesco finest meal deal could pass for a well cooked meal then you'll probably find the food here decent. 4 stars. You'll like it.

For the rest of you... The plate arrived... Without tasting it you could see the chips were frozen; the rice was so overcooked that each grain had died from bloating. My sauce gave me flashbacks of the loneliness of Strictly with a microwave meal. The owner claimed the pie was from 'mother's old recipe.' Maybe Iceland has started giving birth. After eating there was a collective, unspoken, flatness and an agreement to pay up and leave as quickly as possible for the sake of the night.

This is pretty much Wetherspoons standard at double the money.

In summary, if you like food made with care and from fresh ingredients then don't expect to be satisfied with the food here. If you know what separates michelin starred joints from the rest then you'll definitely not find any value in this food even if it is gastro pub prices.

As a pub for drinks I'd say it is a nice place to come and have a drink.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaCole, Owner at White Lion Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear DylanLl

We do recall your visit to the White Lion but there are some facts we feel should be established. On the Saturday evening you were asked by your waitress if everything was OK and the reply was “fine” and that the curry was very nice. As for Gastro pub prices £10.95 is very competitive locally. We do not claim to be Michelin starred, we have always been good quality pub food. Like all Pubs we can get it wrong occasionally, but to accuse us of using poor quality ingredients is an insult to the dozens of people who have left positive reviews. Wherever possible we source quality local ingredients such as Welsh Lamb.

Nina Cole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Lion Inn also viewed

Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
 

Been to White Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Lion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.