We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aweful Accomodation - and even for a wedding guest stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Towers Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Towers Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Towers Hotel & Spa
Ashleigh Terrace | Swansea, Jersey Marine SA10 6JL, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jersey Marine
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Aweful Accomodation - and even for a wedding guest stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Before going to reception to change original room, the whole corridor smelt of chip fat. Upon entering orginal room so did the room, upolstry and towels. The TV was not set up ready to work straight away and the kettle did not work all together.

The second room (upon our request to move), was a little beter. Better to where the corridor did not smell of chip fat nor did the room, upolstry and towels. However, the open terrace table was burnt and falling apart, there were numerous stains on the room carpet and the bathroom area was not 100% clean. Kettle did not work and upon receiving a requested alternative one, staff member shoved it in hand and walked off.

Lastly, the customer service was appauling from all the staff around the hotel. They diddnt appear to want their jobs nor be pleasant or helpful in the slightest (all except 1 lady behind reception with blonde hair whom was helpful from start to finish).

Our stay was for a wedding. Appauling and not suitable for a wedding all in all, as far as my stay was concerned.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frances186466, Manager at The Towers Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Firstly I would like to say how disappointed I was to read such a review after having so many happy guests and positive feedback from the wedding party and guests from the weekend. Secondly, with regards to the corridor and room smelling of chip fat, this is a complete mystery, as the kitchen is located in a completely seperate block and all of our laundry is taken off site by a professional laundry service and is returned in complete sealed packaging. Dont quite understand what you mean with regards to the TV not ready to work straight away, do you mean that it was not switched on as you entered the room, as no reports were received at main reception regarding a faulty TV. Lastly with regards to staff at the hotel we do pride ourselves on customer service and the majority of our staff at the hotel are long serving employees who have been with us for several years and go out of their way to ensure that guests have an enjoyable stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    79
    34
    15
    12
See reviews for
42
85
12
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I had the spa day experience again which was fab, there is a wide range of treatments and having tried the back neck and shoulder massage (better than the park plaza Cardiff), the jessica nails manicure, facial and eybrow tint I can highly recommend all. The food is always very good quality, fresh, tasty and plenty of it. We stayed the night and enjoyed the tribute night who, which was fab, great fun and danced all night, the evening BBQ buffet was very nice with lots of tasty side dishes, salads etc! The Towers never fails to deliver on quality service and price, will definitely be going back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This place was delightful and that was in heavy rain...it must be beautiful in good weather.
Very welcoming, easy to find, pleasant staff and the function room was nicely furnished. The buffet was good with plenty of variety and a really good chicken curry
The bar didn’t offer a large choice of drinks asked for a bottle of Corona & Jameson Whiskey - they had neither, had to settle for larger and 'sweet' Martina because they didn’t have 'dry'.
The accommodation tower looked stunning lit up at night.

Room Tip: Was a guest at wedding - didnt stay over
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading.Berks
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed for a Sunday Night package. We may have got the Sunday Staff - indifferent, young. No porter to help us to rooms in other building. Bar closed early evening? Room refurbished modern but several items broken. Told they'd fix them Monday after we'd gone. Food was better - starter - poor brake bros type stuff with part baked chopped up white baguette. In edible. Mains were huge, hot, tasty - Breakfast was enormous - biggest portions I have seen in a hotel ! Spa was good. Hotel quite empty. Go for the food and the Spa but otherwise pretty average and soul-less I'm afraid.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

What a fab night!! The spa treatment was gorgeous (body scrub), staff are friendly & the atmosphere relaxing!
The evening entertainment was great, lovely meal & great room! Highly recommend for girlie weekend!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

From being picked up at the train station by a1 taxis,arranged by the hotel, my stay was exemplary. Not being familiar with the area and unsure, the towers arranged for me to be picked up by their recomended taxi company who took me to the hotel, helped me in booking in and sent the same driver every time to pick me up. Great food,room very clean and leisure facilities were top class for the rate charged.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at the Towers with our son and his family to attend a family function at the hotel. When we called to book rooms we were informed that the hotel was full but when we informed them that we were attending the function, they offered us rooms in what they described as their apartments. On checking in, we were informed that the apartments were located across the road from the main hotel building. We were then directed to two self contained two bedroom flats on a newish housing estate across the road from the hotel, we were given keys to the apartments and left to get on with it. Although staying in the apartments, it was explained to us that we had full use of the hotel facilities during out stay.
On entering our apartment it was immediately apparent that the rooms had not been cleaned after the previous occupants as there was a discarded bottle top and paper in the middle of the floor in the living room. There was thick dust on the window sills, the blinds were broken and the two settees in the living room were stained and dirty. The place can only be described as dirty and neglected. On checking with our son, we found that his apartment was in a cleaner state but was also neglected and in need of serious attention.
The matter was immediately reported to reception, the lady on duty apologised for the state of the rooms and stated that housekeeping staff would be called out to remedy the situation. We decided that we were not prepared to stay in our allocated apartment and the receptionist agreed that we could all use our son’s apartment. We did consider leaving and finding somewhere else to stay but not being familiar with the area as we were about 200 miles from home, having two young children with us and the function was due to start in a couple of hours, we decided to make the best of what we had. At least the beds were clean. The receptionist offered to find us a room in the main hotel, which we found rather odd considering we had previously been told that the hotel was full.
The cleaner later attended the apartment we had vacated and spent about half an hour cleaning it. We don’t know the state of the place when she left but it would have certainly taken longer than half an hour to get it to a satisfactory state. The whole apartment block needs a lot of work to get it to a satisfactory condition for fee paying guests.
On a positive note, we had a very good breakfast before we left. This was served buffet style in the hotel dining room. It was good quality food and plenty of it.
Based on our experience during this visit we would certainly not use this hotel again nor could we recommend it to anybody else. The two apartments need and awful lot of work to get them to a satisfactory condition for use by paying guests. We don’t expect a palace when we stay in hotels but we do expect cleanliness. If you are offered the apartment, decline it and find somewhere else to stay – we now know that there is a Holiday Inn Express a couple of miles away.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the 'apartments'
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frances186466, Manager at The Towers Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. My understanding was that the issues with the apartment were noted and rectified as soon as they were reported to reception, and I can only apologise that you had to bring these to our attention. Housekeeping were notified and actions were taken, however your wishes were for the whole party to remain in one apartment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Towers Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Towers Hotel & Spa

Address: Ashleigh Terrace | Swansea, Jersey Marine SA10 6JL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Jersey Marine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jersey Marine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Towers Hotel & Spa is an independant hotel situated only 30 minutes from the beautiful Gower, yet being sited only minutes off the M4. The hotel boasts 70 bedrooms, with full leisure facilities including an indoor pool, sauna, steam room and gym and ample free car parking. The on-site A-la-carte restaurant is open seven days a week serving local Welsh Fayre. All bedrooms are equipped with Sky TV, air-conditioning and guests get to enjoy full use of the leisure facilities. The hotel has two bar areas, with the Penderyn Bar being a residents lounge where you can enjoy a drink or light snacks in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Towers Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Towers Hotel And Spa
The Towers Hotel Jersey Marine
The Towers Hotel & Spa Jersey Marine, Neath Port Talbot

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Towers Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.