We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well presented” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbourmaster

Harbourmaster
Pen Cei | Harbourmaster Hotel, Aberaeron SA46 OBT, Wales
01545 570 755
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 25 Restaurants in Aberaeron
Price range: $13 - $29
Cuisines: Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Well presented”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Very well presented restaurant, clean and modern. The food was good although slightly over priced as they you have to go to the bar to order both food and drinks and with the price charged we would of expected full table service.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    137
    84
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Wales
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Nice treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Cawsom ginio yma ar Ddiwrnod Santes Dwynwen. Bwyd hyfryd a staff yn siarad Cymraeg.
We had food from the lunch menu. Lovely burger and fries for £10. £1.50 extra for cheese. The chicken supreme was very nice and the Talsarn Faggots went down a treat.
This is a very popular place in Aberaeron. Ideal place to celebrate Santes Dwynwen (Welsh Lovers Day).

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewenny, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A surprise find, well worth a visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We were recommended to take a visit here if passing through aberaeron. So glad we did, knowledgeable staff who greeted us with a smile, offering a fantastic menu and a great selection of drinks. If passing through or looking for a weekend break this place is well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Harbourmaster bar menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

On a recent trip to Wales I stayed close to Aberaeron in a cottage and had food at the Harbourmaster. You can order from the bar menu or dine in the restaurant. The restaurant was not open in the early evening as we arrived and that's why we decided to choose from the bar menu. I ordered a burger which I utterly enjoyed. The quality of the meat was great. The cumin ketchup gave the whole meal an extra exotic touch. My sister ordered some soup and had salmon with a beetroot and potato side. From what she said she was happy with her choice. The only one who was not satisfied with her choice was our friend who ordered a steak. Cooking steak is not as easy as it seems. The quality of the beef, the cut, the cooking time - all needs to be perfect. Having a little minute steak on the plate can disappoint, especially if it is tough and got fat on it.
All in all I would say the food is simple and good. In my opinion - there is not much what can go wrong on the bar menu. Other people might say - not a great selection for everyones taste. If you want more sophisticated food you might want to try the Harbourmaster restaurant or the Cellar.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food, and caters for gluten free diets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My friends and I had an absolutely delicious meal here, which for me included an amazing gluten free burger with chips and cumin ketchup. The staff were fantastic, and the food amazing. Well worth a visit!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbourmaster also viewed

Aberaeron, Ceredigion
Aberaeron, Ceredigion
 
Aberaeron, Ceredigion
Aberaeron, Ceredigion
 

Been to Harbourmaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbourmaster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.