We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely little guest house, in need of a few modernisations in the utilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arosfa Harbourside Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberaeron
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arosfa Harbourside Guesthouse
Save
You added Arosfa Harbourside Guesthouse to your Saves list
Harbourside, Aberaeron SA46 0BU, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Aberaeron B&B and Inns
Conwy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A lovely little guest house, in need of a few modernisations in the utilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Stayed here rather than in Aberwystyth as I find that there are few if any decent places there, and I would recommend Aberaeon as a great alternative. The B & B was easy to find and in an ideal position. A friendly welcome and a good sized room, which would be ideal location for a 70's/80's period drama which should not be seen as a negative in a world of copycat rooms in the corporate and branded world. The bed was very comfortable and the facilities just what was needed. My slight comment on utilites was based only on the water pressure and shower facility which could really do with up dating into an incorporated hot water and shower system. Loved the breakfast with options for every taste. The price is pitched just right to making you feel that you are getting value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    28
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
9
41
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Having booked to stay at Arosfa we were delighted to see the rates were reasonable - £70 for 2 x people. And as requested we telephoned at midday to confirm we would check-in between 4 and 6pm. We arrived at 5pm, (right in the middle of our agreed time,) but couldn't get an answer at the entrance door to Arosfa, and having waited 15mins in the cold and dark, we eventually gave up and tried to find somewhere else to stay. Dispite the short notice we managed to secure a room at The Harbourmaster, and although very good, it was twice the room rate of Arosfa. So we didn't get to actually stay at Arosfa B&B, I did eventually contact the owner who offered a weak explanation as to the non-appearance, but no apology, it just seemed as though the owner could not be bothered, very disappointed, especially at having to cover the extra cost so wont attempt to stay here again. They clearly dont want the business!

Room Tip: Don't bother!
See more room tips
Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

stayed just for one night, it was quaint, spotlessly clean, will not appeal if you like clinical modern hotels, full of Victorian style furniture and nick nacs! nice and warm, bed super comfortable, plenty of hot water and everything you could possibly need supplied in the bathroom! from your normal shampoo to cotton wool and shower cap! The breakfast was outstanding with freshly baked breads, super chilled buffet, and a great choice of cooked breakfasts very well cooked, highly recommend with very friendly staff

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We have just returned from a two night stay at Arosfa. Excellent breakfast lovely room overlooking the harbour .Will be visiting again lovely friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

My husband and i stayed at the Arosfa Harbourside for a few days...it was one of the most comfortable..spotless..friendly places we have stayed..our room was opposite the harbour which was so pretty!!..they thought of everything in the rooms!! the bathroom was huge!!..the breakfast was to die for...i've never seen a cooked breakfast with the presentation like that...a huge choice of food...bill and his staff were amazing... first class!!! i would highly recommend this guest house!! bill EXCELLENT EXCELLENT!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Been looking forward to staying at the Arosfa again and it was as good as expected. Bill and his staff are so welcoming and helpful, and the breakfasts are superb - such choice! The only problem was choosing which of the wonderful Welsh breakfasts to have each morning.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

My husband and I and two other couples stayed at the Arosfa Guesthouse for one night and wished that we had booked for a longer stay. It was delightful and the most beautiful setting and a gorgeous little seaside town. The rooms are splendid and the breakfast is 'to die for'. Thans Bill for your hospitality and if we are ever in that part of the world again we will make a point of staying again. Liz & friends from New Zealand.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arosfa Harbourside Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arosfa Harbourside Guesthouse

Address: Harbourside, Aberaeron SA46 0BU, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Aberaeron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, quality accommodation for that special weekend or get-a-way break•Winter Break 3 nights for 2 from 1st November to 31st March excluding Bank Holidays•Real Comfort in centrally heated accommodation with modern double glazing• A memorable choice of imaginative Welsh Breakfasts that includes Celtic laver bread, smoked fish, traditional home cured bacon and tasty vegetarian dishes •Coastal path outside the front door•Harbour views and sofa comforts•In town but away from the main road. Close to the water's edge, shops and restaurants •Delightful ground floor accommodation with sun lounge and lovely views•Free, well lit overnight parking close by•All rooms en-suite; single, double, triple or small family•100% no smoking policy •Digital TV and free Wi-FI•Our friendly, efficient team hope to see you soon. The bedrooms all have their individual features that you would expect from a house built during the middle of the 19th century. Arosfa retains all its character from that period and is surrounded by similar fine Georgian properties that together make a handsome square with Pwll Cam (the Inner Harbour) at its centre. The fine Georgian house was originally built in the 1850's by a family from nearby Cardigan as a home and probable provisions store. This period was Aberaeron's heyday when a large part of the town was constructed. Arosfa is ideally situated in the town, on the harbour yet still only a short walk to the shops with the convenience of the small free harbour car park close by. There are no hills to worry about and you can take short walks along the quay and seaside promenade or up the riverside footpath which takes you over "Lovers Bridge" and into the park. The surrounding area has an abundance of interesting places to visit within a short drive or bus ride. To name a few there is Devils Bridge, reached by the narrow gauge railway, Roman Gold mines at Pumpsaint, Llanwernog Lead and Silver Mine, Llanerchaeron Mansion, National Botanic Garden of Wales, Aberystwyth Cliff Railway, the ancient Strata Florida Monastery and much more.Since our AA Award we have been continually refining our Welsh Breakfast fayre and there is now more choice than ever and we hope you enjoy it. We think our home cured bacon is something really special and we are always looking for something new to do with laver bread. One very refined elderly welsh lady dared herself to try this most Welsh of Welsh dishes for the first time. She thoroughly enjoyed it and was instantly converted to being a 'Bara Lawr' fan. Chilled Breakfast BarStart with a wonderful selection of fresh fruits, cereals, local cheeses yogurts and our own muesli that is available from the Chilled Breakfast Bar. Then enjoy one of our delicious cooked breakfasts: Grilled Fish, Fresh Filleted Mackerel, Freshly landed in Aberaeron during the season. Gently grilled and served with lemon and scrambled egg. Whole Smoked Kipper, Traditional, natural smoked kipper served on the bone with all the trimmings and scrambled egg. Arosfa Grilled Breakfasts: Our Welsh bacon comes from a local piggery where the pigs are reared outside in a natural way, feeding in fields or woods. We cut the bacon on the premises and serve it with local free range eggs and pork sausages made by our butcher. See if you can taste the difference. Traditional Breakfast: Two Thick Welsh Bacon rashers with pork sausage and fresh egg cooked to your liking. Full Welsh Breakfast: A favorite with many of our guests. Three Thick Welsh Bacon rashers, pork sausage and two gently fried eggs. Local Home Cured Bacon and Egg: This is the bacon that your grandfather would have had for breakfast. Being dry cured over time the old fashioned way it is different in texture and flavour, delicious. Welsh Black Pudding Two Welsh bacon rashers, a fried egg and 4 juicy rings of Pwdin Du. Celtic Laver Bread - 'Bara Lawr ' A delicacy that captures a unique flavour from the sea shore. Harvested edible seaweed that has been enjoyed locally for centuries and is still very popular today. Rolled in oats and lightly pan fried in olive oil;•Served with bacon and fried egg•Penclawdd Cockles and poached egg•Welsh Black Pudding and poached egg•Smoked haddock and poached egg•Or for vegetarians with lemon, mushrooms, tomato and filled with sliced, cooked apple if you wish. Local Cured Ham A lighter breakfast served chilled with melon and toasted home made bread, New Laid Eggs, Free Range eggs from a local farm. Boiled, Poached or Scrambled to your liking with toasted homemade bread. Beverages: There is a choice of various teas; Indian, Chinese, Earl Grey, and Fruit or Herbal. We have freshly brewed cafetiere coffee as well as instant or decaffeinated. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arosfa Harbourside Guesthouse Hotel Aberaeron
Arosfa Harbourside Guesthouse Aberaeron, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arosfa Harbourside Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.