We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A glimpse back in time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of llanerchaeron

llanerchaeron
off A482, Aberaeron SA48 8DG, Wales
0844 800 1895
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Aberaeron
Type: Historic Sites, Gardens, Cultural
Attraction details
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A glimpse back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Well worth a visit if you want a look behind the scenes of a splendid country house. Staff were very helpful and knowledgable.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    40
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haverfordwest
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Not for folk who find field sports offensive.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I thought Llanerchaeron immesely interesting from a socially historic point of view. The family that lived here were obviously totally immersed in field sports. They clearly lived and breathed hunting, shooting and fishing. Nothing wrong with that. The house is full of memoriabilia celebrating their success in these enterprises. To me this house is something of a lament for times past when country folk were left to get on with the business of maintaining their own environment in the tradtional ways.
That said, Llanerchaeron has adapted and now has its own working farm, aiming to expand localism in the choice of produce in Wales, an excellent concept to which we should all wholeheartedly subscribe.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“First class National Trust house, beautiful gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Lovely gardens and walks and well informed staff who are eager to share their knowledge on the architecture and the quirks of this beautiful house, the kitchens and courtyard rooms are simply a must see.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A lovely little house and a great farm.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

We had the same idea as many on a wet day. Visit a NT property. The main house is quite small so was crowded to start with. The volunteers were more than helpful and we, with 4 kids, got round hunting for toy pigs.
The farmyard was brilliant. Lots of space, animals and things to see and do. We spent 2 or 3 times as long as we were planing. Afterwards we had cowl in the cafe. A lamb broth, delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandysul, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Historical Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Family visit. House lovely and well preserved. Hands on for kids in the servants quarters were very popular especially the beating the carpets.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed llanerchaeron also viewed

 
Rhydlewis, Ceredigion
 

Been to llanerchaeron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage llanerchaeron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.