We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Year Anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbourmaster Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberaeron
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harbourmaster Hotel
Save
You added Harbourmaster Hotel to your Saves list
Pen Cei, Aberaeron SA46 0BT, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Aberaeron B&B and Inns
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“1st Year Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012 via mobile

My wife had seen this hotel on a "visit Wales" advert. We arrived on Sunday and we weren't dissapointed. Food and drinks in the bar and then because the weather was so great we took our drinks out to the "harbour" wal were we sat and drank and watched the world go by.
The room in which we were staying was the "John and Henry" - one word "fab" big open deck to relax on and all the comforts of home. The big free standing roll top bath was immense.
Dinner reservations in the rest were at 8 so we got changed and made our way downstairs.
We had great food from the menu which is 3 courses for £30 plus supplements for different things. All in all we had a really pleasant stay and would highly reccommend this to anyone.

"we will be back"

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    65
    23
    23
    2
See reviews for
35
207
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kerry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

The only dissapointment was that we just stayed for 1 night.we needed a chill out night and thats what we got.The staff were great ,so helpfull and friendly we were instantly made to feel welcome.our room was perfect, modern, spacious and clean,The bathroom was to die for.It had one of the deepest baths we have seen.The shower was equally as grand.We had our own balcony which had a lovely view of cardigan bay.We had dinner in the resturant ,it was one of the best meals we have ever had.Delicious.We will go back and stay longer next time.What a special place and so lucky to have experienced it.

Room Tip: we stayed in The john and henry room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Just stayed for the second time at the Harbourmaster. A faultless performance yet again.
Fanatastic location, fantastic bedroom (as I was upgraded on arrival), fantastic views.
The staff are so welcoming and professional. The bar is a delight with a great atmosphere. I have yet to eat dinner in the restaurant as the food in the Bar is first rate. Breakfast was very good with great choice.
I have stayed twice now when on business in Ceredigion and have yet to find fault, I keep promiising to take my wife as it would make a great romantic venue.
Cannot wait until my next stay.

Room Tip: The singles are on the small side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I'd wanted to stay at the Harbourmaster for a while, and my partner booked it as a birthday surprise. It was fantastic!
We stayed in Madona, the attic suite on the third floor at it was gorgeous, with views across the harbour from one window and out to see from the other. The bathroom was huge with a freestanding bath and double shower, and the bed was huge and so comfortable. We met up with friends in the bar before dinner and I loved the relaxed atmosphere. Our dinner was faultless as was the service. I can honestly not find one thing that I was dissatisfied with and I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Gem of a hotel, rooms not large but full of character and space cleverly used. We stopped in the house down the road, lovely view over harbour, just had to get used to the sloped floor!
Plenty of hot water and evening meal great.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed one night in November and were received by really friendly staff. If we had known what a gem this hotel is we would have stayed longer. We stayd on a night where the restaurant had a Beaujolais evening, and enjoyed excellent service and food! ... and breakfast followed suite!.

We will come back. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: The Aeron Queen is the perfect hotel room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We enjoyed a good stay at the Harbourmaster, accomodation was available at short notice, which was fortunate as we had been let down by another B&B in Aberaeron. Rooms good, but maybe just looking a little tired.
Breakfast excellent, good service and fine quality food.
A little expensive, but clearly very popular.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbourmaster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourmaster Hotel

Address: Pen Cei, Aberaeron SA46 0BT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Aberaeron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbourmaster on the quayside in Aberaeron offers you comfort in the most idyllic of locations. This listed landmark building reopened in June 2002 after extensive renovations. We have 13 individually-designed rooms in three historic buildings - all with harbour views. In 2008 the warehouse was opened, providing a further 4 rooms. A harbour facing suite with panoramic views, two west facing sea view terrace rooms and a town view room suitable for disabled use. (lift access to these new rooms) The Restaurant and new warehouse bar specialises in fresh local produce. Come and stay for a relaxing time and watch the tides wash in and out and the sun set over the bay! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbourmaster Hotel Aberaeron, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbourmaster Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.