We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lil Guesthouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ty Gwyn Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberaeron
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ty Gwyn Guesthouse
Save
You added Ty Gwyn Guesthouse to your Saves list
Drefach, Aberaeron SA46 0JR, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Aberaeron B&B and Inns
1 review
“Great lil Guesthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Mark welcomes you as a long lost friend rather than a guesthouse owner! Location is perfect. Beautiful romantic stroll into the Harbour! Room over looked the beautiful sea, big and roomy with all the facilities you need. BIG ole breakfast for free on top, can't beat it for £60. We will be returning, didnt get a chance to dip into that hot tub with a bottle of vino!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARKTYGWYN, Owner at Ty Gwyn Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks for submitting such great comments...It was a fun couple if days here of which you were part..Good luck with the wedding...Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
48
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had the most wonderful opportunity to stay at Ty Gwyn Guesthouse. Stay with my wife and small baby.

The service that Mark (owner) and his team give are truly 5 stars, you will not be disappointed by the location, the accommodation or the joy that Mark brings to this guesthouse.

Breakfast was amazing, cooked to perfection and presented.

Thank you Mark for a fantastic stay, the only downside was i couldn't stay longer. I'm looking forward to returning in the future

Room Tip: Book to stay here! You will not be disappointed !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARKTYGWYN, Owner at Ty Gwyn Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
It was a pleasure having you here..It has been a great but busy week with really nice people making my job easy..See you again...Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great sea views from our room, quality bedding and bathroom products give a touch of class. Hospitality from Mark was fantastic, helpful but not obtrusive (eg getting us wine glasses and a corkscrew, chatty but knows when to leave you to it). A bit chilly for the hot tub for us but it was available if you fancied it. 10-15 minutes pleasant walk into town along the seafront, an inexpensive taxi back if you don't fancy the walk in the dark. Breakfast used quality ingredients and was well prepared and presented. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARKTYGWYN, Owner at Ty Gwyn Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
As always I am pleased you had a good stay..It has been a little breezy for the hottub,maybe next time.....All the best, Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Much Wenlock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Always a risk looking at other peoples reviews wondering if there standards are as high as yours well let me say we have very high standards and Mark (the owner) easily met them. We were looking for dog friendly accommodation on line and the photos looked good so we booked for two nights. The annex room has underfloor heating and can be regulated to meet your requirements. The bedding and towels were lovely and clean as was the rest of the accommodation. The food was presented on lovely clean white crockery and was beautifully presented and plentiful. As others have mentioned Mark was very friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful time walking our cocker spaniel along all the nearby beachy coves will definetly recommend Mark to all. My husband obviously plans to go back again (he left his slippers!!)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARKTYGWYN, Owner at Ty Gwyn Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Kind words indeed...And I now find as far as slippers go,one size fits all..!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This place is amazing and we are so glad we found it!!! We have just returned from a weekend here and we have already booked our next trip! The quality of accommodation and facilities is fantastic and the owner Mark could not do enough during our stay. Very welcoming and great hospitality, friendly and made us feel at home. This is the only place we will be staying when we visit this part of Wales and with the beach just a few minutes walk away, could it get any better? Our room had views of the sea and it was heavenly! Stay here, you won't regret it! Thank you so much for making our weekend so memorable and relaxing. We came back so chilled! Look forward to seeing you in May!

Room Tip: We had a double room overlooking the sea, which was huge and just lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARKTYGWYN, Owner at Ty Gwyn Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
I am pleased you had such a good visit and look forward to greeting you in May and August ...Lets hope you see the Dolphins again..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

A superb winter break. Great hospitality, fantastic fun and dog friendly too... The hot tub overlooking the sea was terrific after a long day walking in snowdonia. Aberaron and the surrounding coastline provides stunning scenery (even in march). Nothing was too much trouble for our host. Even after receiving news he had become a grandad mark was still keen to drop us off at nearby Newquay for our coastal walk back to aberaron. A super experience... We cannot wait to go back. We would certainly recommend ty gwyn and after our visit can now differentiate between a full English and full welsh breakfast... Go forth and try it out for yourselves!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARKTYGWYN, Owner at Ty Gwyn Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
I am happy you made the most of the coastal path and the hottub here..It was great to have you here at such a wonderful time for me...See you again ,Mark..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Brilliant hospitality, great accomodation, superb breakfast. Mark also had great local knowledge and made us so welcome. A beautiful spot on the Welsh coast. The best guesthouse we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARKTYGWYN, Owner at Ty Gwyn Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Well Phil @ Sue I am really pleased you had such a good experience here at Ty Gwyn & in the town of Aberaeron....Thanks for your positive comments.......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ty Gwyn Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Gwyn Guesthouse

Address: Drefach, Aberaeron SA46 0JR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Aberaeron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 bedroomed b&b of 4 star grading....Also has a 1 bed disabled adapted and dog friendly self catering annex..All just 300 metres from the sea....Modern clean home with wonderful sea views...Great food served and friendly staff.. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ty Gwyn Guesthouse Aberaeron, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ty Gwyn Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.