We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rescued us at a time of need” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The New Inn

The New Inn
Ystradfellte, Ystradfellte CF44 9JE, Wales
+44 1639 720211
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: English, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Under New Management. Charlotte would like to welcome you to the New Inn. Fabulous Welsh sourced food can be found in the recently refurbished 16th century inn. If you are walking the waterfalls or visiting the area, please be assured of a warm welcome. Please note we are not currently able to accept credit cards whilst waiting for installation of our machine,so can only accept cash payments until further notice.We apologise for any inconvenience. If you have visited the New Inn before please visit again.
Devizes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rescued us at a time of need”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had to drop out of an event in the mountains and looked for some civilisation to help us out. Stuck in the middle of nowhere and needed some shelter. We were made very welcome in the New Inn. Beer was excellent, as were the chicken sandwiches, and very welcome. Good selection of home made bar snacks. Landlord made a few phone calls for us and managed to persuade a taxi firm to come all the way from Brecon to get us. Told us stories of people in the summer turning up and just wanting to use the toilet without buying anything. It's a business not a charity. Use the toilet, but buy something. And talk to the landlord. He's a nice bloke.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    62
    4
    14
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fine food in great walking country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I walk a lot in the Brecon Beacons and tend to plan my walks around a place to eat. This is one of my favourites. The food is not just your average pub grub but is simple yet interesting and perfectly cooked. We had "venison sizzlers" this weekend, medallions of very tender venison steak, really tasty with home made seasoned chips, the other choices were equally interesting.

Looking at the comments further down (and the reaction to the place of a small group of bikers on the day), the New Inn and it's staff appears to create a "Marmite reaction" ie, you love it or hate it. I am firmly in the love it camp. I have never had a poor meal, have never felt overcharged for the quality if food on offer, or that the staff have ever been rude to me in any way, even when explaining that hot food is no longer available late in the afternoon . I accept that the economics of such a pub in such a remote place mean that hot cooked food is only available for a couple of hours around lunch time, but great sandwiches are available all day. I also accept that fresh milk for tea would be an issue here so their solution is that the tea available is typhoo in pre-packed instant paper cups rather than anything else, perfectly drinkable, The coffee is very good as is the interesting range of ciders on offer.

We will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“How bizzare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

What a stunning local pub which 2e were told by the locals to avoid at all costs and to walk 4.5 miles to the next pub. The proprietor was bizzare, not as rude as I was expecting after some of the reviews I have read/heard but not exactly welcoming either. I will be back to ensure I have the full "new inn" experience- cant wait!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best ham egg & chips EVER!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

After travelling to Wales from Norfolk we popped in to the New Inn to a friendly welcome and a home cooked supper, enjoyed the landlords/chefs company and enjoyed his food, in fact we went three times in a week and each visit was just as good. The sandwiches David prepared for our walks were out of this world and kept our strength up - highly recommended. As for the ham egg and chips - the best we have ever had. Thank you David for your lovely pub, keep well, and hope to see you next year. Annie, Colin, Jay

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We called into the New Inn by chance while driving round the countryside.
The staff were very friendly and our meals were not only very good but excellent value for money.
Must try and make a return visit

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The New Inn also viewed

Glynneath, Neath Port Talbot
Pontneddfechan, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Aberdare, Rhondda Cynon Taf
Aberdare, Rhondda Cynon Taf
 

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.