We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth a trip into back of beyond” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Neuadd Fawr Arms

Neuadd Fawr Arms
Cilycwm, Llandovery SA20 0ST, Wales
+44 1550 721644
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Llandovery
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Definitely worth a trip into back of beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Had been looking for place to eat in llandovery, glad we came up with this one, bit off beaten path but worth it. Excellent menu, great quality and friendly.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    11
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food, nice atmosphere, good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Excellent quality food served in a pub / bistro type atmosphere. If you are in the area then recommended for an evening meal. A little more expensive than the average pub meal but not excessively so and worth paying for the extra quality.

Menu is relatively short and consists generally of various meats with sauces and accompanied by chips, roasted vegetables or a salad. The gravy (flavoured with leeks) accompanying the lamb rack was very, very good (about £13 from memory). Desserts were about £5 and the date and treacle tart was again very good. Free, fresh flat bread provided before the meal.

Only a few tables (6?) in the bar but there is a separate dining room (seating 12 or so?) and sitting in the dining room may be a bit remote and atmosphere free. I'd recommend asking for a table in the bar.

Would definitely return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandeilo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Neuadd Arms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Tripadvisor lists Neuadd Arms as a restaurant in Cilycwm, Llandovery, which has no reviews yet. In fact, Neuadd Arms is actually Neuadd Fawr Arms, Cilycwm, Llandovery, for which Tripadvisor already has a number of reviews, including my own (all excellent reviews, by the way), so please delete Neuadd Arms from your list and only keep Neuadd Fawr Arms. Thank you

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My family and I booked a table at the Neuadd Fawr Arms based on the strength of the good reviews on trip advisor and other websites. We were not let down - the food, service and whole experience was absolutely superb! The place is a hidden gem - home cooked food of exceptional quality! A good a gastro-pub meal as you will get anywhere!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandeilo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fine food in a lovely setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is a hidden gem! The menu is inventive and beautifully executed by a very competent chef.
Miles above the usual pub fare, it's a fine restaurant in a quiet pretty village, excellent beer from a local brewery, comprehensive wine list at fair prices. Friendly and attentive service,and lovely touches: wild flowers on the table, food served on vintage fine bone china crockery, little nibbles before the meal, freshly baked bread, everything homemade and fresh. The decor is lovely too, wood burning stoves, beams, large original windows, simple and stylish. We discovered it by chance, having lived in the area for 2 years, and we'll be back many times! At last we found the "local" of our dreams!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neuadd Fawr Arms also viewed

Llandovery, Carmarthenshire
Llandovery, Carmarthenshire
 
Llandovery, Carmarthenshire
Llandovery, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to Neuadd Fawr Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neuadd Fawr Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.