We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pub, great beer festival” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Oak Inn

The Royal Oak Inn
Rhandirmwyn, Llandovery SA20 0NY, Wales
44 01550 760201
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 14 Restaurants in Llandovery
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Serving locally sourced, home cooked food, Rachel & Christopher strive to make a homely, warm atmosphere where real food and ales can be enjoyed. A comprehensive wine list, with many wines available by the glass is also on offer. The Royal Oak Inn also offers Bed and Breakfast. There is a garden with far reaching views across the Upper Towy Valley and real log fires.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lovely pub, great beer festival”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Friends and I stayed in Rhandirmwyn Campsite (about 5 mins walk down the steep hill) over the bank holiday weekend and ate here all 3 nights - first two times we sat in and on the last night we ordered a take away.
We were especially excited to see there was a beer festival on but not too hopeful about it being any good - we were very pleasantly surprised. Lots of local beers, ciders and perrys. They also offer a beer take away service ( 1.5 pint bottles - £4.50ish).
Good atmosphere, food was nice (chips delicious but take away portion could have been much bigger for price) and service very friendly. I had lamb on first night which was really delicious but again for price could, no, should have been much larger amount of meat. Burger on next night superb. Outdoor seating with some goats in a pen which was nice for the kids we were with (ok, and for me :)), they also provide some toys which went down well!
Thanks for a lovely weekend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rachelbyrne, Owner at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and giving feedback- it is always appreciated. This was our second Beer Festival and they have both gone down a treat. We hope to do more! If you like our facebook page you will post dates of the next one on there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    12
    0
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Pub Beers & Food oh & Very Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The food is all fresh, best burger had in a long time and puddings all wonderful. Beers and ciders very well kept, but most importantly very welcoming, local village pubs anywhere in UK can be frosty when outsiders walk in, but here felt part of the community.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rachelbyrne, Owner at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We appreciate that you have taken the time to leave feedback and write such a lovely review about us. We would totally agree that the best thing about this pub is our customers- they are just lovely, friendly, welcoming and open. We have seen many friendships made between locals and tourists (Facebook has been proof of that!) We are glad you enjoyed the burger- Minced Welsh Beef Steak with nothing else added. Hopefully we'll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful pub- packed with people.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Great and tasty food in a really pretty garden with stunning views. Good beer, good wine, and the place is buzzing with campers and locals.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rachelbyrne, Owner at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such lovely comments. We work hard to make sure the food and beer are up to standard, but I am afraid I have to give Mother Nature the credit for the views from the beer garden! But I agree, they are quite special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wow wow wow!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stumbled across this little gem quite by mistake but very pleasantly surprised not only with the excellent variety of food on offer, but also the quality and fresh tastes. Amazing really as the village appears to be 'back and beyond' so only expected second-rate 'catering' meals as opposed to the definite home-made fayre on offer. Too much choice if I have to be honest!!!

Being a real ale fan also, the choice of ales and ciders as well as Welsh whiskey as also a bonus.

Service was prompt, friendly and professional.

One final point, sometimes in these remote country pubs, the clientele can be a bit 'clicky' and unfriendly locals. However, the atmosphere was excellent, lots of laughter and warmth.

A real gem, highly recommended to even go out of your way to.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rachelbyrne, Owner at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. It is always a pleasure to welcome our regular guests, and I am glad to hear you appreciate our home cooking. We like our clientele too, they really make this a special place to be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The Royal Oak is a friendly, welcoming, relaxing and well run establishment. The log fire is usually burning away and adds to the ambience of the bar. The beers and ciders are a connoisseur's paradise being regularly rotated from one beer or cider to another.
The food is of good quality and there is a terrific variation on the menu from rice dishes, to welsh steaks and lamb and an excellent Sunday Lunch is available and all at very reasonable prices with "specials" being available certain days of the week. There is also some GF meals cooked in separate utensils.
It is a place where everyone speaks to everyone, locals and visitors alike.
You can also book one of the rooms and enjoy their breakfast.
Well worth a visit!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rachelbyrne, Owner at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review and we are delighted to hear that you appreciate our efforts. It is always great to welcome such lovely people, and I agree with you when you say, 'everyone speaks to everyone'- We have seen some wonderful friendships made in our pub. It is always nice to know that the time I spend cooking is also worth while. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Oak Inn also viewed

Llandovery, Carmarthenshire
Llandovery, Carmarthenshire
 
Llandovery, Carmarthenshire
Llandovery, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to The Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Oak Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.