We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and relaxed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Head Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kings Head Inn to your Saves list
Kings Head Inn
1 Market Square, Llandovery SA20 0AB, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Llandovery B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wales
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Comfortable and relaxed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

A very nice one nights stay. Dinner was excellent although the restaurant was full so we had to dine in the bar area which happened to be very busy and noisy but we still enjoyed. The young staff were extremely professional, friendly and helpful. The barman was super! Breakfast was very good. Our room was right at the top of the house and was comfortable and very clean. We would return.

Room Tip: Some rooms are located at the top of the house with lots of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    14
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
27
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Nathan Pearce and Sam Millidge took over running this pub a few months ago and we have visited it for lunch several times recently. They are doing an excellent job in providing good quality food at very reasonable prices. at lunchtime and on Sundays. We use is as a destination place when we go out for the day which usually involves about a 90 mile round trip. Everything about the place makes it a friendly worthwhile place to eat.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed here for the weekend and had a wonderful stay, the staff work very hard and always make you feel welcome, the food is stunning eat there both nights and lunchtime. We stayed in the attic room and it was very spacious, clean and had a huge bed which was very comfortable. This pub/hotel was taken over by 2 young lads named sam and nathan, they both work extremely hard and i wish them all the success in the future. We cant wait to return for another relaxing break. Well done.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Just returned from a two night Groupon stay at this hotel. What a bargain we had! The hotel has recently been taken on by Sam and Nathan and they couldn't do enough for us. The hotel is old and quirky but the rooms are lovely and tastefully decorated. We were given room 23 which overlooked the market square. It was on the smallish size but had everything in there that we required. Fresh, good quality linen on the beds and fluffy towels. An assortment of teas, coffee, Hot chocolate and biscuits were available. Also a small selection of toiletries. The food was amazing, hot, tasty and good size portions. Breakfast was also good. Nathan and Sam worked flat out and nothing was too much trouble for them despite being extremely busy on Saturday night. Llandovery is a quaint small town and an excellent base for walkers and countryside lovers. If you're looking for a clubbing this is not the place although there is plently of activities going on. For shopping I would recommend Camarthen town 40 minutes away. We had a chat to the boys telling them we thought the Groupon offer was extremely good value and they told us to phone them and as long as they are not busy they would give us the same offer. What more can you ask for! Boys we wish you every success with your new venture, keep doing what you are doing! We will be back. Like Arnie says....'we will be back'! Good Luck

Room Tip: Room 23 is above the entrance door. Bear in mind that this is a pub as well so if you're an earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marloes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

One night's stay booked via Groupon to explore the surrounding area. We live in the beautiful county of Pembrokeshire and found another beautiful part of Wales. Friendly welcome upon arrival with Graeme, the young lad. We found the room clean and the bed comfortable. Went down into the bar for a pre-dinner drink and ended up leaving the bar around the 'witching hour!' We had many a good pint pulled by Graeme as the evening wore on. Dinner order was also taken by Graeme from the Groupon menu. First course served by Graeme, followed by the second course and dessert also served by Graeme. This lad was extremely busy but remained courteous throughout. Food was delicious although a minor grouse, could have done with onions/onion rings and mushrooms to accompany the steak. Steak's not a steak without. Had a very comfortable night's sleep but only a slight complaint, there was a constant droning noise which could have been linked to the cellar's coolers or something similar. The following morning a full Welsh breakfast. Orders taken, we believe cooked, and once more, served by Graeme. This lad has no end to his talents! We ended our stay with an exhilarating walk around Usk Reservoir, a six mile round beautiful trip under the watchful eye of many a Red Kite overhead. The weather for the time of year was more than what we could have hoped for. Sunshine all day. All in all, would recommend the King's Head to anyone looking for a warm, welcoming and pleasant stay with friendly staff. We would return without hesitation. It really was 'Exactly as Stated on Packet'.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here for one night last friday,lovely place,very friendly staff,
the room was lovely even though it was attic room
We stayed on a groupon deal which was well worth the money
We were a bit worried there wouldnt be much to do,but we were pleasently surprised as
there were numerous pubs in the village.
Would highly recommend and will be returning soon

Room Tip: We stayed in the attic room and it was very spacious,cant comment on other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff are very welcoming and helpful, nothing is too much trouble for them. We had the loft room which was very comfortable and well furnished. The breakfast is fantastic - just what you need before attempting Pen Y Fan!! Dinner was really impressive too, as was the wine choice. All in all, a great place to stay and certainly value for money. We'll be staying there again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Head Inn

Address: 1 Market Square, Llandovery SA20 0AB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandovery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Llandovery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the home of the Bank of the Black Ox, the Kings Head in Llandovery is a traditional coaching inn with a history that dates back to the 17th century.Nooks and crannies, crooked floors and exposed beams together with great food and refurbished bed and breakfast accommodation, make the Kings Head the perfect modern day coaching inn and the preferred choice of many; including tourists, commuters and even members of the Royal Household.Overlooking the cobbled market square, our location is simply superb. In the heart of the Brecon Beacons National Park, you’ll find us just off the A40, half way between the Eastern borders of Wales and the ferry ports in the West.But it isn’t just our location that keeps regulars and visitors coming back for more. Mouth watering food, a selection of great ales and a true Welsh welcome all await you at the Kings Head in Llandovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Kings Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Inn Llandovery, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Head Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.