We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good little spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Memphis East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Memphis East to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Memphis East
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6055 Shelby Oaks Drive, I-40 at Sycamore View Boulevard, Exit #12, Memphis, TN 38134   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A good little spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights while visiting the Memphis area. Its a little bit out of the CBD but easy enough to get anywhere, for example you are only 15 minutes away from Graceland. The rooms are newly renovated with all the amenities you would require. There are places to get food around the hotel. The front desk were very helpful and overall it was a really comfortable 2 nights.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DallasLawrence, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Memphis East, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
I sure am glad you enjoyed your stay here in Memphis and appreciate all your kind words. Look forward to seeing you again the next time you pass through.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    24
    25
    14
    25
See reviews for
23
32
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Typical RRI, very accommodating because we travel with a small dog. But they didn't have even a Continental breakfast. There was a Waffle House within walking distance. Dallas checked us in and was very efficient at his job. Had to pet our Papillon and came around the front desk to do so.

Room Tip: We always get a King room for the space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DallasLawrence, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Memphis East, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review and for all your kind words. I wish we had room to have a breakfast but unfortunately our lobby area is just to small to accommodate anything more. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you and your puppy the next time your in town. Oh, by the way, there is a Cracker Barrel on the other side of the building as well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Convenient to highway 40 , good price, clean, Dallas was very nice and helpful thank you. Will be a repeat visitor as my daughter is a college student in the area. And no extra fees for dog a big plus ! And Cracker Barrel restaurant right in their back yard !!

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DallasLawrence, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Memphis East, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
It was so nice of you to leave us a review and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to you staying with us again. Thanks for being a loyal customer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Renovations in progress and stayed in a refurbished room. Must say that this was very clean and comfortable, the front desk even phoned the room to see if we settled in OK.

The only downside was that we stayed in the room next to the construction workers but this is just nitpicking. Would recommend this motel for everyone on his way to Memphis!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DallasLawrence, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Memphis East, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are doing our best to accommodate everyone's needs to the best of our abilities. We are glad your enjoyed your stay and look forward to serving you in the future. And knick picking is ok lol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Room was clean and comfortable. The location is right off I-40 and there are several restaurants close to the hotel. I had requested a ground floor room but they were all taken by constructions workers working on the highway so I ended up on the 2nd floor. The room was very quiet and I heard no traffic or other noise. The front desk was being covered by Dallas and he was quite helpful, friendly and made both check-in and check-out fast and efficient. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The non-smoking rooms are all remodeled and it was clear they are enforcing the rule as there was no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DallasLawrence, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Memphis East, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
First off I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on our location, we as a team strive to make all of our guest feel important and welcomed. If there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable please don't hesitate to let myself or my staff know and we will try our best to make it happen. Hope to see you soon.

Dallas Lawrence
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain City, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

The superior king rooms were spacious w/ a desk. Free wifi.

Our pet rabbits stayed for free at this locaction.

The ice machine was broken at our building so I had to walk all the way to the main building to get ice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DallasLawrence, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Memphis East, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you so much for giving us 5 stars. We as a team work very hard trying to make your stay as pleasurable as possible. I'm sorry the ice machine in your building wasn't working. We are trying to get this working asap before the summer gets here. Hope to see you again if you are back in this area.

Thanks Again

Dallas Lawrence
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a cheap nights rest, to our surprise the room was very clean, neat and tidy. We also got a call from the front desk with in 10 min asking us how our room was. Pets were no extra charge! We've stayed at some hotels and paid up to 25 extra for pets, Wonderful and within budget!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Memphis East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Memphis East

Address: 6055 Shelby Oaks Drive, I-40 at Sycamore View Boulevard, Exit #12, Memphis, TN 38134
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Memphis East 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Memphis East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Memphis East Hotel Memphis
Memphis Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Memphis East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.