We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underated! Stay Here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   185 Union Avenue, Memphis, TN 38103   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & WiFi
Ranked #30 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Magnolia, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Underated! Stay Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Tell me this isnt so? This hotel should be in the top 5! I stayed here in June 2012 and it was amazing. Staff was friendly and the room was spacious. My wife adn I would walk to Beale Street and hang out and come back to the room and chill out. Very close to Beale Street. If you are going to party downtown and hang out this is the place you want to stay. P.S it is one of the lowest priced rooms in the area! Stay Here!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your recommending the hotel to others! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Memphis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    321
    203
    83
    59
See reviews for
145
305
52
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Motta Sant'Anastasia, Italy
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

We lived our room and the location. The price was higher than I wanted but the best for the location. Then you're hit with parking fee, but all the hotels down here do that. Great hotel with best price for the area plus it is a Hilton hotel which have always been good to me.

We would stay here again as you almost can't beat the location.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time your travels bring you to Memphis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

This is one of the better DoubleTree properties I've stayed at, although I'm not a big DoubleTree fan in general. I had a room on the top floor which was pretty nice. A few small issues with the room were the non-functioning window shade and the lack of any reading lights near the bed - could not read at night with dim lighting. The hotel is right across from the Redbirds park (AAA baseball) - I attended a game which was fun. Not far from Beale Street. Breakfast was at the attached TGI Friday which was fine.

The property is expensive (over $200) however and they have a $22/nt parking charge.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay. I am glad to hear that you had a good stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are in Memphis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed one week at the Doubletree. The rooms were nice and pretty much sound proof for goodnite sleep. Had no problems with cleanliness of the room. Everything downtown is close to this hotel which also has a TGI Friday's in the first floor. Only setback: no self parking and the valet gets pretty crowded at times so the wait might be longer than expected.

Room Tip: Double bed rooms are much larger and corner king bed rooms have less walking space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are in Memphis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opelika, Alabama
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Visited Memphis June 4-6, 2012 and Doubletree by Hilton Memphis Downtown had the perfect location for fun on Beale Street, being only a couple of blocks walk down Union Street. The lobby was impressive and the staff was courteous and helpful. Our room was a small corner room overlooking the AutoZone baseball park. The room was comfortable but maid service wasn't the best. Bathroom floor was not clean and towels were not replaced. One drawback is no self-parking, only valet, which is $22 per night. The pool on the 2nd floor (outside) was small and less than inviting. The hallways on 7th floor were very warm and we were not aware of a reason for it. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. I have shared your comments with the housekeeping team so that we can pay special attention to ensure the bathrooms are properly cleaned and items restocked. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are in Memphis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallup, New Mexico, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

No excuse for a dirty room! Bathroom floors are nasty! Very friendly staff but the maid needs talking to!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience with us. I am terribly sorry to hear that the bathroom floors were not clean.. we take a lot of pride in the cleanliness of the hotel and I apologize that your experience did not reflect this. I have shared your comments with the Housekeeping Team and the Room inspectors so that others are not disappointed as you were. I hope you will give us another chance so that you can see our commitment to cleanliness and guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

Rooms and staff were great. Walking distance to lots of entertainment. Tho TGIF staff could use some help. Nice pool out side on second level.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay with us. I have shared your comments with the entire team and we look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Memphis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown

Address: 185 Union Avenue, Memphis, TN 38103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#24 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Downtown Memphis entertainment district. DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown has the harmonious blending of modern and historic styles and offers guests the comforts of home as well as the excitement of the Memphis Downtown scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Memphis Downtown Hotel Memphis
Doubletree Memphis
Memphis Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.