We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   185 Union Avenue, Memphis, TN 38103   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & WiFi
Ranked #30 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

This is a great hotel that is convenient and walking distance to Beal street and a lot of downtown attractions.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    349
    229
    93
    62
See reviews for
156
333
53
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
World
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I wanted to book this property at the wedding group rate. I left a message for the "Group Sales" person. She never called me back so I ended up paying much more than the group rate ($174 per night). The room was disgusting. There was gunk on the "work desk", a dirty cleaning rag left on the floor in the bathroom, no chair to sit at the work desk, no luggage stand (had to live out of a suitcase on the floor). The bed was OK but I didn't sleep at all for the two nights I was there because whenever the air conditioner compressor kicked in it sounded like a bomb going off. I had the choice of sweating in the heat or lying awake anticipating the "bomb". The coffee machine was broken and there was water in it that who knows how long it had been in there. There were loud noises in the halls all night and absolutely no security - anyone could walk in the lobby then walk to the room elevators at will with no scrutiny whatsoever. After coming back from the wedding at about 11:30PM the valet parking was backed up on the street. We waited, waited and waited in our car for an attendant to start moving cars. This was a Saturday night in downtown Memphis in May. It turns out that there was only one valet parking employee on staff during one of the busiest nights in the downtown area.

Avoid this place if at all possible!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
A clean room with functioning appliances and comfortable temperatures are a basic expectation of a good stay. I am terribly sorry for the experience that you had.
I have shared your comments with my entire Team so that we can effectively address all the issues you have shared with us so others are not as disappointed as you were.
All our rooms are have luggage racks in the closets and desk chairs. We have had 3 security guards on duty each weekend night in May(Fri & Sat) and one guard on duty during the day time. I hope you will give us another opportunity the next time you are in Memphis, so that you can experience our commitment to service and guest satisfaction. Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Staff was very friendly, but did not follow through on a number of requests. We originally booked their corner suite with a sofa bed only to arrive to find out that their sofa bed was not to be found. We then ordered a roll away bed to be brought up which they confirmed... it never showed up even after 3 calls. In the final call at 11:30 PM they said that they ran out of the roll away beds that afternoon. We had to put our son up in another hotel for the night. The next day after 2 more calls they finally showed up with roll away... the bad news is that the frame was broken. We also had problems with a leaking toilet on the floor and a broken toilet seat in the other bathroom. Have had better experiences..If it was not for the friendly staff I would not be able to recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post comments regarding your recent stay with us. am terribly sorry that you had to call down 3 times to request a rollaway. Please know that I am diligently working with the Team to ensure that others don't have the same experience as you did. Guest satisfaction is very important to me and I profusely apologize for letting you down. I hope that your travels bring you back to Memphis soon so that you can experience our commitment to Guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Right next to the Peabody -- and about $100 less per night -- this is where we went to celebrate Mothers' Day -- mostly because we could get smoking rooms. The staff were friendly and extremely efficient. Bellman had the luggage up almost as soon as the room was assigned. Car was out of valet in about three minutes anytime we needed it. Front desk was great. Rooms just a tad worn but nothing objectionable. Rooms are spacious. The location is splendid. Beale Street, which we visited just as soon as we had checked in late on Sunday afternoon. Memphis is quite a wonderful city to visit and the Doubletree downtown is within quick walking distance of not only Beale Street but the restaurant and bar laden Main Street as well as the river front. Supported by easy to use trolleys, such cultural sites as the Civil Rights Museum AND the baseball park are very easy to visit. Of course we stepped into the Peabody (a cultural site in and of itself) but the Doubletree is not a bad choice at all and we will come again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Across the street from the Peabody hotel and the baseball park, 2 blocks from Beale Street. Upon arriving the staff is always at the door greeting. In fact every staff member we ran into was friendly and helpful. The lobby is huge and in the evenings there was a jazz pianists which was a special touch. The rooms are small but adequate. TGIFridays is connected but we never ate there as there were so many great options in walking distances. The only thing is the valet parking was outrageously expensives, $22 a night and we were never told of any other options.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
163 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Redbirds baseball was going on. Lots of music playing on Beale Street. Memphis in May was about to start. Went to a concert at Minglewood and the staff was very accommodating with cabs and valet parking. Check in was delightful. Staff was really nice. Now doing a cocktail hour in the lobby. Pool area was closed, which was unexpected.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay with us. Our outdoor pool is open from Memorial Day until Labor day. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are in Memphis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a conference, thank goodness I had enough points not to pay for it because it is not worth price.

Pros:
A mostly friendly staff
Location, Location, Location
Comfortable bed
Nice size rooms
Flat Screen TV

Cons:
Some of the staff - see below
Security latch in my room was broken and never fixed as asked
The extra pillow and towel I requested was never delivered
The walls were paper thin (I could hear Beale Street Saturday night and could hear my neighbors phone ring. Every time they closed their bathroom door it felt like their was an earthquake.)
The Thermostat didn't work consistently
The carpet felt old and dirty
Black out curtains were from the 80s I think that are way too small

- Upon arrival, I had a very nice lady check me in. Since the hotel was apart of the conference, she was able to tell me where to go and how to get there. She even gave me a full color map. Well, I still had to get some things from my car before I valeted it and I accidentally left the map in my trunk. Instead of causing a big problem with the valet, I thought I would just stop by the front desk to grab another map, I mean it had only maybe 30 minutes since I got the first map so should be simple. No so simple unfortunately. The lady who had first checked me in was not at the desk and the new lady, was....uninformed. I told her I was with the conference. She didn't know what I was talking about. I told her you know the conference, that is on the sign right there. (There was a huge sign in the lobby welcoming the conference members) She still didn't know what I was talking about. Then I said its at the conference center. So she gave me very brief directions. "OH just go up a block and hop in the trolley" Ok...what is my stop, which way do I need to go. Points, "That way". Me., "Can I just get a map?" her "What map?" So you get where this is going. After more of this, she finally gives me a map, but doesn't bother to point out where the conference center is. So I ask, silly me. Her "The trolley will drop you off." Me: "How far is it?" Her: "A mile give or take." A mile? I am not going to take the trolley to go a mile. It was a beautiful cool day. I ask her again where is the conference center and we go back and forth several times. I finally spell it out for her, "Ok listen, I am not taking the trolley as I have already said several times to go a mile. Where is the conference center? I am not taking the trolley." Her:"Why ain't you taking the trolley?" ME: "Its only a mile." Her: "Yeah its a mile so why would you want to walk that far?" Seriously? SERIOUSLY??? OMG. Me: "Its a beautiful day and I want to enjoy it." She rolls her eyes and gives me directions. This all lasted 10-15 minutes!!!!

After I check in at the conference, and complete the orientation, I head back to my hotel. That is when I notice the security latch is broke. I am meeting-up with some colleagues so I thought I would just stop by the front desk on my way out. I know, I know fool me once...and all that. Any way, the manager is at the front desk this time so I tell her the latch is broken and I give permission for maintenance to enter my room. She said it would be fixed immediately. Several hours later I return to the hotel. The latch is still broke and remained broke during my entire 4 day stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the same side as the elevators have a view of Beale Street and it is super noisy. Also, if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I have used your comments as a training tool so that others are not disappointed as you were. I assure you that we will work on improving the issues you brought up. I hope you will have a chance to stay with us again soon so that you may experience our commitment to Guest Satisfaction and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown

Address: 185 Union Avenue, Memphis, TN 38103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#30 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Downtown Memphis entertainment district. DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown has the harmonious blending of modern and historic styles and offers guests the comforts of home as well as the excitement of the Memphis Downtown scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Memphis Downtown Hotel Memphis
Doubletree Memphis
Memphis Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.