We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good prices + very good service at the restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Memphis East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Memphis East to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Memphis East
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2625 Thousand Oaks Boulevard, Memphis, TN 38118 (Formerly Hotel Memphis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Liege, Belgium
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good prices + very good service at the restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Very good location close to the airport. Good food + great service at the restaurant!

Room Tip: Very quite 14th level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    122
    83
    45
    37
See reviews for
73
87
24
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

When we learned that our return flight home from our vacation was cancelled, and that we were "stranded" in Memphis, the disappointment was there. But the airlines arranged lodging for us at this outstanding property..What a gem!!...close to everything...and you still get the "top of the line hotel" experience..The drivers, wait staff, front desk, even the engineering staff were equally friendly and helpful. Your property made our family feel as if we were visiting "other distant relatives" who went all out to impress us!!! I would strongly encourage anyone who is contemplating visiting Memphis, stay here...it's a true value option...and the restaurant (and other adjacent dining options...the hotel will drive you!!) are first class as well. Kudos to the manager, and team.

Room Tip: the hotel is very quiet....and away from the main thouroughfare...ask for a room facing the interior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Truly enjoyed our stay. Facilities outstanding and the staff could not have been nicer. Went out of their way to make us feel like family. Highly recommend

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this property our honeymoon night. The reason we chose this property was the airport shuttle. Although we did not stay more than 5 hours in the hotel. From my experience, it fit the bill. We stayed on the top floor and the bed in our room was awesome. My only issue with the hotel was the lack of cold water. I know this sounds unusual, I assure you a warm shower is great, a scolding hot shower, not so much. Due to the age of the hotel, I am sure this was just a maintenance issue. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

The good:
Very friendly and accommodating staff. Good gold member lounge on 14th floor for breakfast and evening snacks.

Gym is nice and outfitted with quality equipment that is all in good working order.

Rooms are comfortable and pleasant.

The Bad:
The entire lobby smelled like sewer from the first day to the last (Mon-Wed).

Drinks in the hotel bar are overpriced such as $7.75 for a Jack & Coke.

If you wander outside of the 8' metal fence that surrounds the entire hotel, I would suggest being heavily armed.

As with many places, it's the staff that made this place a good experience.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset Hills, Missouri
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Recently stayed at the Memphis Marriot East and while the hotel and staff tries to be good, they aren't quite up to par. First the rooms, as others have stated, old tube TV's with limited channels is out-of-date, and this is just an example. 0.85 per minute to use a computer in the business center? Are you kidding me? Ordered 2 drinks in the bar (call brands) and handed a bill for $30? Are you kidding me? We got a very good weekend rate here, but felt like they just tried to make it up with the other prices. I have recently stayed in Drury and Hampton Inns and the rooms were as nice or better than this Marriot. Plus, they had free hot breakfast and free happy hour in the evening. Because of the high bar price I stopped in the local grocery store to buy some goods, it had armed guards at the door. The liquor store nearby I tried had all the bottles with the cashier behind bullet-proof glass. After dark you will not want to leave this protected compound of a hotel. The staff tried to be nice, but would guess they were all too inexperienced to really be great. This hotel really seems to be operating on a time frame of 10-20 years ago and needs a upgrade to 2012 standards.

Room Tip: You may get a cheap rate, but EVERYTHING else here is way overpriced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln City, Oregon
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I spend from one-third to one-half of my life in hotels, some of which are disappointing, but my experience in this hotel gave me a whole new perspective on what disappointing looks and feels like. Please understand that the hotel had reasons to keep me happy. I was there to present a two-day program in their meeting and banquet area. My company was renting the meeting room and AV equipment, buying lunches for almost 30 people and offering an open bar to the attendees in the evening as well as generating business for the hotel from a number of people who came to the program from out of the area.

My flight arrived after 9 p.m. and the hotel did not have a room saved for me, despite having my reservation. Instead of a sleeping room, they gave me a meeting room to sleep in, telling me that I would love it because it was big and had a dining table in it. It did have a dining table large enough to seat six people comfortably. Unfortunately, it didn't even have a real bed. There was a small Murphy bed they had pulled down out of a piece of furniture. I am not tall, by any definition of tall, but the bed was so short that when I lied down on it may feet hung over the lower edge. But it was late and there were no other rooms, plus I was tired, so I unpacked and got ready for bed.

The room had a "bar" area and I soon realized that the wretched stench in the room was coming from there. Under the bar where I found a large trash can stuffed with recently emptied beer bottles. The previous occupants of this room had partied big time. I called down to the main desk and asked to have the trash removed. When a maid did arrive, she had not been told why she was there and was shocked at the mess. She removed it.

When I decided to go to bed, I discovered that the so-called bed had a sheet on it, but no blanket. I called downstairs again and after a while the same maid showed up at my door with a narrow coverlet--the kind that hotels lay across the bottoms of beds to make the bed look fancy. I tried to cover myself with this, but despite the fact that the bed was narrower than a single bed, the coverlet would not reach from side to side. I called back down and asked for a real blanket. The maid eventually showed up with a very thin comforter. Still no blanket. She could not locate a real blanket. In a hotel!

Because this room was a meeting room, not a bedroom, it had two doors. The gaps between and under these doors were huge, letting in a surprising amount of light from the hallway. I got very very little sleep that night.

If you are unfortunate to have to stay there, I'm fairly certain you will not be shunted into this same room, but the very fact that the hotel would allow this to happen to a guest with commercial value speaks volumes about their basic incompetence. I can assure you they are capable of finding some way to surprise you with a level of inconvenience you have never seen before.

Room Tip: Tip: stay anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Memphis East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Memphis East

Address: 2625 Thousand Oaks Boulevard, Memphis, TN 38118 (Formerly Hotel Memphis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Memphis East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Memphis East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Memphis Marriott East Hotel Memphis
Marriott Memphis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Memphis East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.