We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, Excellent Concierge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Memphis Marriott East

Save Saved
You added Memphis Marriott East to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Memphis Marriott East
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5795 Poplar Ave., Memphis, TN 38119 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select Memphis-East Poplar & I-240)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #23 of 134 hotels in Memphis
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Excellent location, Excellent Concierge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

New hotel in perfect location, near many restaurants, with excellent service in concierge level. Price was $209 per night, a little pricey for the market but they did not charge for parking. Breakfast dining in room was on time and excellent. I had the frosted flake French toast it was tasty.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtney_ingersoll, Director of Sales at Memphis Marriott East, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you so much for the review. I'm so glad you were able to try the french toast! I hope the next time your in town you try items from our lunch and dinner menus. You will love it! Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    36
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
24
20
3
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

It is nice to stay at a new hotel. There's some excitement and eagerness in staff. The room is well furnished and bed is very comfortable, but it is basically another Marriott. It seems as if all new Marriott hotels are doing away with bath tubs which is a shame. Also I was not happy with the breakfast selection at the concierge lounge. It was the smallest selection of food items among all Marriott hotels I've stayed at. It did not even have cooked oatmeal and fresh fruit so it's difficult to have a healthy breakfast. I was a bit surprised by it. If you are happy with eggs and sausage you are fine. Overall service is good and is a nice hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtney_ingersoll, Director of Sales at Memphis Marriott East, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your review. We have been listening to our guests and have included additional healthy options in the lounge. If you enjoy tubs, all our double rooms do have the shower/tub combination. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

I stay in Memphis often for work and had grown tired of staying at the outdated Marriott Downtown and the even more outdated full service Marriott near the airport. This hotel just opened 3 weeks ago and everything is shiny and new - including the service staff's attitudes. Everyone was very nice and attentive. The conceirge lounge was nice (though oddly the door was wide open all night!) and the lobby nicer than I thought it would be from the outside. I'm so happy to have this as an option now in Memphis! They treat their platnium guests well and I appreciate the modern rooms!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtney_ingersoll, Director of Sales at Memphis Marriott East, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you so much for the review. The picture of the sleeping room looks great! We love our guests. Next time you stay, please try our wonderful farm to table menu in our restaurant - Table, a delta grille.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The hotel is very nice and clean, but if you are going with a group of boys for a soccer tourney, choose a different hotel. This hotel was listed as as option for the tournament, but they really didn't act like they wanted us there. It felt like hotel staff was lurking around every corner. We actually had staff ask to look inside our bags and coolers when we were entering. I've never experienced that at a hotel before. This place was just way to stuffy for the event we were attending. I understand they want to portray a certain image and keep a certain clientele, but then they shouldn't offer to host soccer teams.
Also the discounted breakfast they offered was horrible. I've had better selection at lesser establishments.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtney_ingersoll, Director of Sales at Memphis Marriott East, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding our staff and property. We opened November 20, 2012 and the soccer team was our first large group. We were very excited about having guests! We have taken notes on how to improve over all. We do hope we have the opportunity to show you what we have learned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Memphis Marriott East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memphis Marriott East

Address: 5795 Poplar Ave., Memphis, TN 38119 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select Memphis-East Poplar & I-240)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Memphis
#18 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Memphis Marriott East 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Memphis Marriott East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Memphis-East Poplar And i-240
Holiday Inn Select Memphis-East Poplar & i-240 Hotel Memphis
Holiday Inn Memphis
Memphis Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memphis Marriott East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.