We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MTG Grandprix Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 N Main St, Memphis, TN 38103 (Formerly Memphis Marriott Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #41 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Moody, Alabama
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“MTG Grandprix Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

So let me start this review off with saying we traveled into Memphis on the Friday night after the big ice storm so the roads were horrible and there was snow and ice every where! When we arrived to the hotel a valet guy greeted us and asked us would we be valeting the truck. He never mentioned a price ($22 a day) but did tell us that it was unlimited ins and outs. We decided because of the weather we would just Valet and we didn't have any problems with it. The man at check in was super nice and very helpful through out the whole trip. We asked him about restaurants in the area later that night and he even gave us a take out menu for a place called Westy's (super good hot fudge pie). The doorman then took our bags upstairs for us. We stayed on the 15th floor. Our view was of the tower beside us and the interstate. But what do you expect when you stay downtown? The room was super clean and very roomy. The only complaint I have is one night the main elevators were not working so we had to use the North tower elevators which only go up to the 14th floor and we had to take the fire escape stairs up one flight to the 15th floor. For us it really wasn't a problem but for someone with smaller kids or elderly people it would have been a big deal. Overall, the stay was great. The fact that the hotel is attached to the convention center we were going to was wonderful! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Manager at Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear The Guys 2006,

I know exactly what weekend you were here just based on the weather you described and it was a crazy busy weekend. I'm glad that you enjoyed the hotel and had a great stay with us. My sincere apologies on the elevators breaking down during your stay. The good news is that the elevator company responded late at night and got them back up and running. Unfortunately some things break down right in the middle of a busy day and we hate to inconvenience our guests. Thanks so much for your review and for staying with us! Hope to see you back again real soon!
Best,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    101
    71
    31
    16
See reviews for
57
76
7
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This place is fantastic. We were there for a competiton at the Cook Convention Center. We parked our car on Thursday night at the Convention Center in their parking deck and took the crosswalk back and forth between the convention center and hotel and never had to get back outside which was great since the weather was cold and icy and snowing. The room was great, the front desk people were wonderful, the restaurant was good. They do not have free breakfast but the breakfast buffet was AWESOME. I do not see how they could add anything else. Something for everyone or you can order off menu. Right outside the restaurant is the bar where you can order off the menu also and you can get breakfast to go items. One morning in hurry so I got huge banana muffin, banana and large oj for about $7 i believe. We were there from Thursday night and checked out Sunday morning. Would definitely.stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Manager at Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Abem2pcmom,

Your review is music to my ears! Thank you so much for recognizing our team for doing such a wonderful job for you. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you back again in the future!
Cheers,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I come here every year for a conference. It used to be a Marriott. This convention draws a lot of folks. Yet, they close their bar at 11:00? Really? And they stop room service at 11:00. I know it is attached to the convention center, but in the future I'll stay near the Peabody where they understand that this is a good week to extend their business hours for an hour or two. I can come to the convention center 1X or 2X per day and do my business but go back to where I can relax and enjoy a cocktail with friends/co-workers after 11:00 p.m.!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Manager at Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Cheriknoy,

My sincere apologies to you for the limited Food and Beverage service. You are absolutely right, we should be open longer when the hotel is at full capacity and I have already addressed this with our Food & Beverage Director. Thank you for this feedback as it helps me identify areas of the hotel that need improvement.

Sincerely,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was very convenient that you could walk from the hotel to the convention center across the street without even having to go outside. The staff is wonderfully nice! The bar made great drinks but service was slow - they worked as fast as possible but maybe they should hire more. The only other thing I didn't like is that there was no shuttle. The hotel across the way had a shuttle and would drop you off where you wanted to go and then come back to pick you up when you were ready. Other than this, our stay was perfect!

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Manager at Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Sis C.

I'm so glad you had a great stay with us and want to apologize to you for the slow service in the restaurant. We had some challenges this past week with staffing as the weather was not the best in Memphis and caused havoc to some of our employees who could no make it in. We are so ready for Spring! Thanks for staying at the Sheraton Memphis Downtown. We hope to have you with us again in the future.
Cheers,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited for a conference that was held next door at the convention center. The Sheraton was clean and staff was friendly. Did not utilize the amenities, but the room was clean and comfortable. The hotel was full, but the elevators handled the capacity.

Green Features: They do have recycling bins in the rooms, which was nice.
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Manager at Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear 76543Travel,

Thanks for the very nice review. I'm so glad you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable - which is very important! We have been very busy these past few weeks and do our best to meet the expectations of every guest on a daily basis! We appreciate you staying with us and hope that you come back to the Sheraton Memphis Downtown should your travels bring you back to Memphis.
Warm Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location, easy parking, beautiful and quiet room, great workout room, knowledgeable and courteous staff!
I have nothing negative to say about the hotel.
We are Sheraton loyalty members and got a great point/money deal for our stay during a busy time.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Manager at Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Melaney R.,

It sounds like we have met all your expectations and that's what it is all about! Thanks so much for the wonderful review and the 5 star rating! Our staff will be delighted to read this review as it is our goal to provide the best accommodations and service in downtown Memphis. We look forward to a return visit from you.....and thank you for being a loyal Starwood Preferred Guest! It is truly appreciated.
Best,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent four days during the I.B.C. My wife and I had a blast! The hotel had an excellent staff. Everyone was very courteous. The room was excellent and clean. The bed was spacious! And we had a great time on Beale Street watching the blues competition. The food was great every where we went.

Room Tip: I had a broken foot at the time so I had handicap room it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Manager at Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Andy H.

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! Sounds like we've helped create some lasting memories of Memphis for you and your wife! We love serving people and it means alot when our guests take the time to express their appreciation to the team. I will be sharing this review with everyone as it keeps them focused on the purpose....delivering excellent service to every guest. We look forward to having you back some day soon!
Cheers,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel

Address: 250 N Main St, Memphis, TN 38103 (Formerly Memphis Marriott Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy outstanding service in the warm, welcoming atmosphere of the Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel. Attached to the Memphis Cook Convention Center and located on the vintage Memphis Main Street Trolley line, we provide easy access to some of downtown’s most notable attractions. Our downtown Memphis hotel is within walking distance of numerous government and corporate offices, as well as the Riverwalk, which offers breathtaking views of the Mississippi River. Nearby are museums, sports venues, Graceland, and Beale Street, the heart of the city’s music and entertainment district.Relax in any of our 600 stylish guest rooms and suites, featuring magnificent city views. Get a great night’s sleep in a plush Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed. Upgrade to a Club Room to get Sheraton Club Lounge access, which includes complimentary breakfast and evening hors d’oeuvres.Stay in touch with the office in our business center. Or take some time for yourself with a swim in our heated indoor pool or a workout in our Sheraton Fitness center.With more than 12,000 square feet of versatile function space, the Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel is perfect for productive business meetings as well as elegant wedding receptions. The hotel is also connected to the Memphis Cook Convention Center, which offers more than 350,000 square feet of venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Memphis Marriott Downtown Hotel Memphis
Marriott Memphis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.