We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 N Main St, Memphis, TN 38103 (Formerly Memphis Marriott Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #49 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We visited here during the holiday season in 2014. We paid about $115 per night, and the room and service was just okay. Valet parking is required, and is an exorbitant $22 per day, and tipping is obligatory. The whole place is rather old, and the whole decor is quite dated with a few renovated parts. The carpet in the elevator had at one point a strange white crusty substance on it; no idea what it was, but the carpet throughout the hotel was not very clean. The major issues with the room was the lack of headroom in the shower (anyone more than 6 foot tall would easily bump their head) and the awkward placement of the toilet paper roll beside the toilet facing the front; impossible to reach while sitting on the toilet. Also there was no fridge; an amenity that is offered in even the cheapest hotels.
On the third floor, there is an apparently free laundry area, which would be good for those having a longer stay, a gym quite large by hotel standards, and a pool which had "murky" water; it didn't appear that clean. Hotel breakfast is not included, and is very expensive: $14 a head for buffet breakfast, and no waffles or pancakes at the buffet like at many cheaper hotels.
Otherwise, the staff are quite helpful and cheerful, were knowledgeable about the surrounding area, and more than willing to help us during our stay. The only small issue I had with the service was a situation where I saw a woman exiting the hotel, her hands full of luggage and clothing. A staff member simply stood there as she tried to open the door, rather than at least giving some effort to open the door for her. Since it was raining, we asked for an umbrella to borrow at bell services, which the front desk told us to do. The umbrella was free, but part of it was broken. Overall, I had a nice and comfortable stay here, but a few things would have made it even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    89
    65
    31
    15
See reviews for
45
71
7
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times with work and have always been treated with warm hospitality. On this occasion I used the gym facilities and was blown away by how great it is, especially for a hotel gym.
The staff are all very nice and seem genuinely happy to be at the hotel.
I love the crisp white sheets and rest better knowing that the bed is clean and won't bring home bed bugs.

I tip my hat off to this hotel. I also say thank you.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, Arkansas
Top Contributor
800 reviews 800 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 207 cities Reviews in 207 cities
384 helpful votes 384 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed at the Memphis Sheraton for the L2L Convention on Easter weekend. The service was very good for such a busy time. The conference rooms were set up very well for our needs. I would rate the customer service as superior.

Our room was standard. The suite with a living room and dining area was spacious and sufficient for the group we were with. The hotel is attached by a walkway to the convention center. I would rate the Sheraton as a good value.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Manager at Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Razor Fish,
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the top notch service at our hotel. We work hard at creating memorable experiences for our guests and it is always refreshing to hear such wonderful feedback from our guests. A lot has changed since you've been here in April. We just completed a major renovation and the hotel looks fantastic. I hope you will be able to come back and experience the new Sheraton Memphis! Happy Holidays to you and your family.
Cheers,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington MO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here on Dec. 5 & 6th The hotel is very nice, not too far from Beale street, an easy walk even when it's cold outside. Most of the staff was very friendly and helpful. The female who checked us in could have been a little more cheerful, otherwise the rest of the staff we encountered were wonderful. The rooms were very clean and it was a very quiet hotel. We needed the small refrigerator in our room fixed, maintenance came immediately to our room and fixed it right away. That was the only issue we had with our room.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Manager at Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello Kevin,

It is so nice to know that our Engineering Department responded to your maintenance issue in a timely manner. We strive to provide excellent service and accommodations to every guest and sometimes we fall short. I'm sorry the refrigerator broke down in your room but very happy that we took care of it in a timely manner. Thank you so much for the review and for staying with us! I hope you stay with us again should your travels bring you back to Memphis.
Happy Holidays,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I travel often and my experience here was by far the best I've ever had. It exceeded my expectations. OUTSTANDING customer service by each & every staff member. Every single employee always greeted each guest with a friendly smile. ALL staff went the extra mile to ensure guest satisfaction. I can't say enough about the amazing, friendly, helpful, professional staff. Also very clean.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Manager at Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Doracel,

You are a breath of fresh air! Thanks for calling me as well to express your satisfaction with the hotel and staff. We are so grateful to have a team that wants to do their best on a daily basis. It's all about the culture and we work hard daily to provide the best for our guests and our employees. We can't wait for you to return next year and do the St Judes Marathon all over again! It's all for the kids! Happy Holidays to you!
Cheers,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've been frequenting Memphis Downtown Hotels lately for a weekend getaway. This past weekend I choose to stay at Sheraton. From the time I pulled up until I left from my stay, the customer service was above no other.

Great bedroom and view of downtown Memphis. Every time I came in contact with a worker they greeted me, very polite, and welcoming.

For the price, I would truly recommend this hotel.

Green Features: I was surprised to see a recycle trash can in the room.
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Manager at Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Nicci 0595,
Now this is the kind of review I like to read! We spend so much time training and developing our team to be customer service focused and it always is refreshing to hear our guests brag about the wonderful service they experienced. Thanks so much for this review, it is truly appreciated. Come back soon!

Best,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Sheratons rarely leave an impression, to put it mildly. I have the interesting view of having seen his property both before and after renovations this year, and the gut job is worth a review. I had no idea this went on, and booked because of he great beds they have.

The renovated lobby feels great, more like a Westin than a Sheraton. The rooms however, are where this place now shines. Everything you touch is brand new and stylishly done. The colors, textures and proportions are just right, and the beds are still fabulous. These might be some of the best rooms in Memphis now.

All I can say is a job well done!

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Manager at Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Greetings Ittessot,

WOW...I really appreciate you taking the time to post this review...and I love the pictures you took as well! I'm so glad to read that you like the new rooms! I will agree with you....I truly believe we have the best rooms in Memphis! Thanks for staying with us. We look forward to having you back again soon.
Cheers,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel

Address: 250 N Main St, Memphis, TN 38103 (Formerly Memphis Marriott Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy outstanding service in the warm, welcoming atmosphere of the Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel. Attached to the Memphis Cook Convention Center and located on the vintage Memphis Main Street Trolley line, we provide easy access to some of downtown’s most notable attractions. Our downtown Memphis hotel is within walking distance of numerous government and corporate offices, as well as the Riverwalk, which offers breathtaking views of the Mississippi River. Nearby are museums, sports venues, Graceland, and Beale Street, the heart of the city’s music and entertainment district.Relax in any of our 600 stylish guest rooms and suites, featuring magnificent city views. Get a great night’s sleep in a plush Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed. Upgrade to a Club Room to get Sheraton Club Lounge access, which includes complimentary breakfast and evening hors d’oeuvres.Stay in touch with the office in our business center. Or take some time for yourself with a swim in our heated indoor pool or a workout in our Sheraton Fitness center.With more than 12,000 square feet of versatile function space, the Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel is perfect for productive business meetings as well as elegant wedding receptions. The hotel is also connected to the Memphis Cook Convention Center, which offers more than 350,000 square feet of venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Memphis Marriott Downtown Hotel Memphis
Marriott Memphis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.