We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 N Main St, Memphis, TN 38103 (Formerly Memphis Marriott Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #49 of 134 hotels in Memphis
Assumption,Illinios
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“nice enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here over 4th of July weekend. Hotel is going through some major renovations. It is a challenge to get on an elevator to get to 2nd floor to check in. Very confusing figuring out how to find things. Once in the room we were very satisfied. Great beds and pillows room was clean. Good place to stay. Once all renovations are done it will be a much nicer experience

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    50
    47
    24
    4
See reviews for
33
42
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

That hotel is a facility, nothing special. Staff is trained and follows the rules from the textbook «How to work in the hotel». Room was spacious, but not friendly, windows looking at the brick wall. Everything works properly in the room, the fire evacuation scheme is in place. Breakfast is cheap and enough food is available, for several dollars you can get even some extra. I did not want. Check out was without problem, the bill was accurate. Good buy!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great location it's a little bit of a hike to Beale street but the trolley will stop behind hotel. Staff friendly, spotless clean and excellent breakfast Buffett! Would definitely go back, loved memphis.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I was on a road trip recently so I had the chance to try a few hotels. The Sheraton in Memphis is a really fancy place to stay with big rooms and free WIFI, but it seemed to me that they were out of the race that other hotels force nowadays. The only amenities were a pool and a gym which is just as standard today as free internet. I not necessarily mean free food or shuttles, but a fridge or a microwave would have been nice.
All in all I enjoyed my stay but it looked like it is an old school hotel but at least it has nice rooms and interior. There is a reconstruction going on which is pretty annoying for now, but I guess it will make the hotel better looking.

Wallet parking is twentysomething - Jamie Cullum style - while there is a parking opportunity on the opposite side for only 10 bucks up until 7 am (max 24 hours) with no in and out privileges, but you can park on the street for free on weekends.

BEALE STREET is 20 minutes by foot and the neighbourhood felt safe.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunlock Creek, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was wonderfully priced compared to other downtown hotels, so we really felt that the quality and price were worth the stay. Staff were extremely friendly, location was great, and rooms comfortable. The hotel is undergoing a major transformation though, which left the lobby and restaurants completely torn apart and not operating. This was not a huge issue, but we would have been upset if we had to stay on a lower floor as I am sure the construction noise would have disrupted our stay. The mud island park is right across the street and Beale St is slightly less than a mile and is a nice 20 minute walk that is safe and scenic. Was slightly irritated that the trolley that is advertised for being right outside of the hotel is also apparently under construction. We ended up fine walking, but were expecting a trolley. My only true complaint was about room service. We left a card hanging on our door for breakfast in bed the morning of our departure as we had to get to the airport early. Our food never came, and instead we found a card under a door saying that sheets could not be changed on day of departure!? They apparently thought our food order was a room tag asking for maid service. After waiting for our food for 45 minutes before realizing what was going on, we called room service and asked how quickly they would be able to deliver the food, explaining we had a flight to catch. Although she said it would be quick, she then quoted a 30 minute wait time after I explained that we could not wait that long. All in all, they got the food to the room in about 20 more minutes, but then still charged a service fee and gratuity that was 1/3 of the price of the entire breakfast. Our plan to have a carefree morning and breakfast in bed before heading home made things harder and more rushed. Employees should be more aware of the services, especially with their restaurant being closed. Other than that, great stay and would stay again for the low price.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The wait for check in was extremely long. The room had not refrigerator and things were left in the draw from the previous occupant. There was also a stain on the floor. The grand piano was broken abd locked. For a music city there there was not much music in the hotel. The food from the breakfast bar was as costly as ordering from the menu. Except the breakfast bar was much faster even though their were very few people in the restaurant st the time we arrived.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A business class hotel that is perfectly acceptable as such. Large, clean rooms, bar on site (featuring the rudest bar man I've ever seen...), good buffet breakfast. Two (of four lift/ elevators out of action for 24 hours during our stay. A long and uninteresting walk out of town.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel

Address: 250 N Main St, Memphis, TN 38103 (Formerly Memphis Marriott Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 134 hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy outstanding service in the warm, welcoming atmosphere of the Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel. Attached to the Memphis Cook Convention Center and located on the vintage Memphis Main Street Trolley line, we provide easy access to some of downtown’s most notable attractions. Our downtown Memphis hotel is within walking distance of numerous government and corporate offices, as well as the Riverwalk, which offers breathtaking views of the Mississippi River. Nearby are museums, sports venues, Graceland, and Beale Street, the heart of the city’s music and entertainment district.Relax in any of our 600 stylish guest rooms and suites, featuring magnificent city views. Get a great night’s sleep in a plush Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed. Upgrade to a Club Room to get Sheraton Club Lounge access, which includes complimentary breakfast and evening hors d’oeuvres.Stay in touch with the office in our business center. Or take some time for yourself with a swim in our heated indoor pool or a workout in our Sheraton Fitness center.With more than 12,000 square feet of versatile function space, the Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel is perfect for productive business meetings as well as elegant wedding receptions. The hotel is also connected to the Memphis Cook Convention Center, which offers more than 350,000 square feet of venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Memphis Marriott Downtown Hotel Memphis
Marriott Memphis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.