We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing wrong, but nothing outstanding” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 N Main St, Memphis, TN 38103 (Formerly Memphis Marriott Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #49 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Nothing wrong, but nothing outstanding”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I just returned from a two night stay at the Memphis Sheraton. I was traveling for business and needed to stay at the hotel booked for our conference, so I didn't do a lot of research into other hotel options.

There was nothing overtly wrong with the hotel - it was just an average, run of the mill Sheraton. The location is at the north end of Main Street almost directly opposite from the convention center (which is kind of desolate). Because the trolly wasn't running due to the previous weekend's ice storm, it was a very long walk to get anywhere.

The hotel is in the process of being renovated, but they need to more clearly state what facilities are not in service. (Would I really have brought a bathing suit, googles, and cover up if I had known that the pool was drained?) On a more positive note, the fitness center was extremely nice with a large inviting space and new equipment.

The one meal we had (lunch the first day) took forever to get to our table, and the servers acted like they were doing us a favor to serve us, even though the restaurant was nearly deserted. (BTW, it was around 12:15, we all ordered salads, and we told them politely that we were trying to eat quickly to make our conference which started at 1.)

My room was ok, but there are no bathrobes, no in-room safes, and the housekeeping staff told me that they had no foam or hypoallergenic pillows. Packets of tea were not replaced (which seems inattentive), and it is difficult to hang your towels for re-use if there are no towel racks other than the one in the shower. They did, however, have a separate bin for recycling, which I appreciated.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room away from the elevators. I didn't - and then could hear the very noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    89
    65
    31
    15
See reviews for
45
71
7
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Room was comfortable. Unfortunately, the bathroom wasn't all that clean and the hotel needs updating. The staff at check in and the bar/restaurant staff were quite friendly and welcoming. They are in the process of renovating.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I really was loving my stay here at sheraton until the morning of my departure.
7 AM housekeeper knock on the door to wake me up, not to mention i got in at 1:15 AM the day and was so tired.
he kept knocking and knocking even though i kept saying please come back later.
so i finally got up and walked to the door and he left.
30 mins later, hoursekeeping now is a lady comes , i told her that i do not need any servicing.
my friend in another room,,,, he had his bolds on his door but housekeeping somehow opened his door and from that small space, he turned his lights on for the room!!! why????
really do not understand their housekeeping policy.
next day, our transportation arranged by the hotel was delayed 40 mins.
it was just such bad experiences but front desk was being polite.
other than that, i really liked this hotel.
room is nice and comfortable, bed is comfortable, just not much around the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Comfortable hotel with some of the nicest staff I've encountered. The size of the room was fine and the beds were very comfortable. The trolley is very convenient, with a station right outside. Would recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: The club floor levels have lounges with free bottled water, soft drinks and snacks. It's a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This hotel is a great place to stay for location. The downtown trolleys stop right outside, and you can get to anything in the area fairly easily. The front desk staff was very helpful. I had to add an extra night due to weather, and they worked it out easily. Concierge had good suggestions and advice.Conference rooms were predictably cold, but well supplied (water, pens, technology).

Regarding housekeeping, had a similar experience to reviewer Michelle. The hotel has a "green housekeeping" policy -- you can hang out a sign to NOT have your room cleaned. Because I wanted fresh towels, I didn't hang the sign. But when I returned to the room after 5 p.m., bed wasn't made and no towels. Housekeeper saw me go in and asked if I wanted towels, which she provided. Got towels the next day, but no toiletries, no bed made. Seems to be too few housekeepers for a busy hotel!

Room Tip: If noise bothers you at night, avoid the Main St. side of the hotel where the trolley runs. It does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casscoe
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

The stay started off bad. When we got to our room we realized that we had left something in our car, so the valet brought our car back. My husband then noticed a dent and scratches from the drivers door to the front bumper. Nobody even told us...we had to notice it!. Pretty sorry if you ask me. The rooms were okay, clean but nothing fancy. The only thing this place had to offer was location. Being right across from the convention center was the only good thing about it!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I want to start out by saying the Valet and Customer Service were excellent! Chris in Valet was most excellent.

We were there for 4 nights and every time we were downstairs and he saw us he asked if we needed anything. We needed to get into our vehicle a couple of times just to retrieve items and he was great about it. He also gave us a ride to a restaurant in the shuttle when a taxi wasn't sitting there waiting on fairs. EXCELLENT,

BUT.... Check in was really slow. We were there with another couple and asked that the parking be put on our bill and it wasn't. We didn't get a copy of the bill under our door the last night so we went to get it and noticed that parking wasn't included. They did change it when we told them about it.

Our room wasn't cleaned after the first night (we returned to the room at 6:30 pm). I called the front desk and they talked to the housekeeping supervisor. They said that they were at 100% capacity and that is why it wasn't done. They offered to send housekeeping but we were in for the evening so just had towels sent up.

Our friends had run into housekeeping in the morning when we all left and mentioned that we would be out of their way (they were just down the hall from us). They said that the room wasn't on their list to be cleaned that day??? So we are hearing different things on when they will be cleaning rooms.

Also, we got a discount card when we checked in but it wasn't explained to us how or what to use it on. We had to ask later ourselves.

So overall, I wouldn't stay there again. The excellent customer service and valet didn't make up for the other things that were a negative.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel

Address: 250 N Main St, Memphis, TN 38103 (Formerly Memphis Marriott Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy outstanding service in the warm, welcoming atmosphere of the Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel. Attached to the Memphis Cook Convention Center and located on the vintage Memphis Main Street Trolley line, we provide easy access to some of downtown’s most notable attractions. Our downtown Memphis hotel is within walking distance of numerous government and corporate offices, as well as the Riverwalk, which offers breathtaking views of the Mississippi River. Nearby are museums, sports venues, Graceland, and Beale Street, the heart of the city’s music and entertainment district.Relax in any of our 600 stylish guest rooms and suites, featuring magnificent city views. Get a great night’s sleep in a plush Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed. Upgrade to a Club Room to get Sheraton Club Lounge access, which includes complimentary breakfast and evening hors d’oeuvres.Stay in touch with the office in our business center. Or take some time for yourself with a swim in our heated indoor pool or a workout in our Sheraton Fitness center.With more than 12,000 square feet of versatile function space, the Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel is perfect for productive business meetings as well as elegant wedding receptions. The hotel is also connected to the Memphis Cook Convention Center, which offers more than 350,000 square feet of venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Memphis Marriott Downtown Hotel Memphis
Marriott Memphis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.