We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located on Poplar Avenue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5320 Poplar Ave, Memphis, TN 38119   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10% your next stay
Ranked #24 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Norfolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Conveniently located on Poplar Avenue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The hotel has plenty of well lighted parking. The breakfast is good. The rooms are clean and well equipped. The location is close to shopping and eating. Access to parking is from a side street with a traffic light. Pool is outdoors and closed in the winter.

Room Tip: As for a room facing the rear since there is a railroad across the street in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    110
    56
    20
    9
See reviews for
89
73
31
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Easy to move around in the hotel, clean rooms, lobby and lot, great, friendly & helpful staff, great location near food, shopping and more! A safe feeling and great value too! I would stay here anytime I am in the area for sure.

Room Tip: The pool views are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I chose this hotel because I had a very early flight and it relatively close to the airport, without having to stay in the airport area itself. It is well located and a number of restaurants are in walking distance. As I was walking into the hotel I heard the train go by and it is loud. Fortunately my room was in the very back and nice and quiet. Their is really nothing special about the hotel itself, but it works for a one night stay on a business trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryon, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Look for a better hotel. This hotel is inconsistent in service - rooms are small. We stay at this Hampton bi-monthly. It is near a nursing home where we visit family. We stay at this Hampton only for the honor points not because we like it. We are beginning to think the "honor points" don 't have much honor. Our last stay in November 2012 was on the first floor in a corner room. There was barely enough space to walk, we felt like we had no privacy. The floor is noisy and the "breakfast room" high tables uncomfortable. We don't see the value for the money spent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel is located in the eastern part of Memphis. Our room was big enough, but not as spacious as most we have stayed in. It was clean, comfortable and attractive. The bathroom was also a little smaller than many but clean and well-equipped. The bed was very comfortable. The only negative comments I have to make are 1) there was no fan in the bathroom, so the mirrors were completely fogged after a shower; 2) the Roman shade over the window was very noisy to raise & lower (pull chain) & we could hear it clearly when the guests next door adjusted their shade; and 3) the hotel is located near a railroad track & we heard trains go by a few times during the night. Light sleepers would want to request a room on the other side of the building. The hotel does provide ear plugs in the room and I used them. The complimentary breakfast offered a good variety of hot & cold foods, baked goods & fruit. Coffee & other hot drinks were available 24/7 in the lobby area. The hotel staff were very helpful and efficient.

Room Tip: Request a room on the side away from the railroad tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I chose the Hampton because we had never had a bad experience with the hotel chain. This particular hotel was awful. The first night we were on the first floor and only slept about an hour between the security guards talking outside our door, the train that sounded like it was in our room and the hotel staff literally yelling across the lobby at 5 in the morning. Also the hotel staff was incompetent and rude. They charged our credit card even though we had paid in cash. When i asked them about it they were incredibly rude about the mistake and unapologetic. It took three representatives and a week to clear the charges. Even though it was a serious inconvenience for us since that was how we planned to pay for our trip, they were unapologetic and actually hung up the phone without explanation. This particular Hampton is definitely not worth the trouble.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My wife and I wanted a reasonable place to stay near enough to Beale St to enjoy downtown. All hotels were very expensive and had expensive parking. We found this excellent Hampton Inn about 10 miles out on Poplar with the nicest staff we have seen in a long time. Everyone is so friendly and helpful.The hotel was 1/3 to 1/2 the price of downtown hotels with free parking. It is close to wonderful eating places and a short car trip to Graceland or downtown. Closets are very tiny and rooms are modest. Comforter is so heavy we had to remove and use thin blanket from closet shelf. Hard to beat the place for this money though. We had a very nice hot breakfast included in the price and free wi-fi in the rooms and common areas.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor. Main floor is very busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar

Address: 5320 Poplar Ave, Memphis, TN 38119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Memphis
#20 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar is conveniently located in the heart of Memphis on Poplar Avenue - the one road that leads to all the main districts of Memphis, from the prestigious streets of Germantown, to eclectic Midtown and the bustling Downtown. Visit musical attractions such as Graceland and Beale Street. Take the kids to see the pandas at Memphis Zoo or catch an IMAX movie at the Pink Place Museum. If you're here for business you will find several local offices and corporations in the locale of our hotel including Bank of America and Coca Cola. The University of Memphis is just three miles from the hotel offering comfortable and convenient accommodation for visitors and students to the institution. Combining value with comfort the Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar provides everything you expect and those extra touches you might not. Wake up to a Hampton's free hot breakfast each morning or if you're in a rush just grab a Hampton On the Run(R) Breakfast Bag, available Monday to Friday. Take advantage of great amenities for relaxation and work including a 468 sq. Ft. Meeting room, a business center, outdoor pool, and free fitness center. We guarantee a clean and comfortable guest room with thoughtful amenities. Keep in touch with free high-speed internet access and a handy lap desk. Catch your favorite show on the 32-inch flat screen TV and have a great night's sleep in the clean and fresh Hampton bed(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar Hotel Memphis
Memphis Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.