We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never, ever again.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Memphis Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Memphis Airport to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Memphis Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1780 Nonconnah Blvd, Memphis, TN 38132 (Quince - Oakhaven-Parkway PD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #36 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Greenville Mississippi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never, ever again.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

Had stayed at this hotel in January, and had no problems. While booking this trip, I read some of the negative reviews and was a little surprised, but, unfortunately, I didn't take them to heart. Checked in for two nights. Sat morning slept in and then relaxed by the pool. It's a good thing we didn't head out earlier because the maids tried to kick us out of our room, saying we had only reserved the one night. We had to go back to the lobby and get our cards rekeyed for another night. A pain, but not a major problem. Then when we checked out the hotel charged us $130 for the second night...saying there were no rooms available at the $100 rate. BS. No one was nice, No one apologized for anything. They said we were lying about reserving for two nights at checkin. Mistakes do happen. I get that. But it was the TOTAL lack of customer service that turned us off. Will never stay again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    53
    48
    25
    22
See reviews for
43
38
27
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

Checked in July 2 about 11:30PM. Key card machine broke. Had to have security let me in my room. I waited out side locked entrance for 15 minute. Parking is behind a locked gate but someone tailed me in. I DID NOT FEEL SAFE. No complimentary breakfast. This property is a Motel-6 with a fresh coat of paint. This is not Marriott Courtyard quality. I did speak to the General Manager- Leslie (I think). He reponse to my concern/trouble was "Things Happen". What happens is I will not stay here again. I was very disatisfied. Of Note: I am not hard on ratings. Check my record, but this place is worthy of this review.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

closest big-name chain hotel near airport, but in the middle of no where. No restaurant. No bar. Was clean and comfortable, but I"ve stayed in much nicer Courtyards with more services. Luckily, internet was free.

Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

OK I've been platinum with Marriott and Diamond with Hilton for 5-6 years now, so this is not just a random drive by review: I cannot believe this is a Marriott property.

Key gate access still doesn't work? After SIX MONTHS??? (see other reviews) that is Inexcusable. Please fire whoever is in charge of maintenance. Now.

But wait, there's more! Maybe it's a Memphis derelict attitude thing... But is there anything that works, well, in this city?

Beds were failrly comfy, but softer than most Marriotts (maybe they bypassed this property in their nationwide renovations?)

Towels were - as one previous reviewer noted - made of something, but not cotton. Paper towels? Sandpaper? Rice wafer thin and - not Marriott quality (recurring theme, here)

Nice neighborhood if you are looking for a broad selection of truck stops, strip joints, and tatoo parlors. Sure wish I knew that before I made the reservation online. But then again, I trust MArriott 98% of the time.

Here's to the 2-per center.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsbruce
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

In the past I've stayed at the Radisson but could never sleep because of the airplane noise. I never really heard any planes at the Courtyard. In fact, I had an inner courtyard room and there was no noise at all. I don't understand why there isn't an elevator convenient to the lobby. You need to go to the far corner of the hotel or use the stairs (with heavy luggage). The shuttle driver was great and I was picked up at the car rental within 5 minutes of my call. My only real complaint would be that the towels were obviously left over from whatever this hotel was before it was renovated and became a courtyard.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2009

This place annoys me. While it seems clean enough, and is very conveniently located in the business park where my company is also situated, the service is miserable, and it doesn't feel entirely safe. I've made two trips here in the past two months. When I checked into the hotel during my January trip, I was given a room that was already occupied by a (thankfully, fully dressed) surprised man. When I made the hike back to the desk to tell the front desk clerk what had happened, she didn't say a word. In fact, she seemed completely unfazed, and simply gave me a key to another room. On the more recent trip, my key card didn't work, so I trekked back to the front desk, waited in line, had my card recoded, then walked all the way back to my room (carrying all my luggage, of course) to try it again. The key didn't work on the second try, either, so I again had to schlep everything back to the front desk and wait for the clerk to try to find another key. She explained that there was a new key system that wasn't working, but these key issues have been happening to my colleagues who have been at the hotel since early December, so I'm not sure how new the issue really is. After trekking once more up a flight of stairs and half-way around the hotel with all my luggage, I tried the new card, and it worked. It only took me 20 minutes of walking back and forth three times to get a room key that worked. Again, no apology or even an attempt to care about my plight. Then when I called the desk at 9:30 PM to arrange for a wake-up call, no one answered. I tried the wake-up call number as well as the front desk for 30 minutes, and no one ever answered. Pilots and flight attendants use the hotel (as do lots of businessmen, it seems), and in the shuttle (free and prompt, which is nice) to the airport the next morning, a few of them were joking about the fact that their wake-up calls were received at the incorrect time or else never received at all. My last gripe is about how unsecure I feel at this place (as a single female traveler). Although the hotel is surrounded by a high metal fence with spikes and there are video cameras posted at the side entry doors, I don't feel very safe. The hallways are a little dark, and there are several possible entrances to the hotel. You have to use a room key to open the doors (and the security fence to the parking lot), but there were some kind of shady-looking characters coming and going during my earlier trip in January. I didn't see uniformed security, and the fact that no one answered my call to the front desk for 30 minutes at night makes me believe that there really isn't anyone around who is too concerned about my well-being. Each room has a balcony, so I'd advise getting a room on the second floor and ensuring that the sliding glass door bar actually works (unlike the one in my room, which fell down when I opened the curtains).

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

We chose this hotel after reading others' reviews here. The proximity was close to Graceland (the reason for our visit). The hotel is located in an industrial area. Gated parking was an added plus. We felt secure here. We used the pink limo service to go to dinner at Marlowe's, which was very nice. The only negative I would give is that the desk staff upon checking in was not particularly friendly. THe night staff was great, however. Our son got sick in the middle of the night and vomitted on the floor and they promptly moved us to a new room.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Memphis Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Memphis Airport

Address: 1780 Nonconnah Blvd, Memphis, TN 38132
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis > Quince - Oakhaven-Parkway PD
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Memphis Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Residential-style Hotel located 2 miles from Memphis Int'l Airport & 3 miles south of Graceland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Memphis Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Memphis Airport Hotel Memphis
Courtyard Memphis Airport
Memphis Marriott
Memphis Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Memphis Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.