We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disgusting” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Motel 6
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2889 Austin Peay Highway, Memphis, TN 38128 (Formerly Days Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 134 hotels in Memphis
jjsidf
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“disgusting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2006

we travelled from northern manitoba. took us 4 days io get to memphis tn days inn . we always travel with our pets . we arrived at the hotel to see a woman so angry she was threatening the desk clerk and mannager because they were changing the rates of her whole party of wedding guests. our turn they did the same to us . $10 they tried to charge us extra. towels ere see through . 3 days we stayed the room was not cleaned. asked for towels we got 2 and they said they had no extras. there were 4 of us my husband myself and 2 kids. scarey area rough. breakfast was out late and put away early. disgusting rooms . i would never let my dogs stay in such a dump. never recomend to anyone. i could go on . do not stay there

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    3
    2
    19
See reviews for
9
5
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, TN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2006

The two rooms we stayed in at the Days Inn on Austin Peay Hwy. were appalling, and bore no resemblance to the descriptions in the Days Inn 06-07 Worldwide Directory or the hotel’s own flyers. In general, the rooms lacked the basic necessities to make our stay comfortable. Discrepancies in the hotel and rooms advertised and what we had were no more coffee at the Daybreak Breakfast when it ran out, no cable, no HBO: the TVs only had FOUR local channels, no alarm clock radio in either room, no microwave oven in either room, no hot tub in the hotel, no free coffee available in the lobby “24/7”, no telephone, no remote control for the TV, no pillows on one bed, no SolTerre shower, only two bath towels of very low quality, and bugs.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2005

Ok this place is pretty rank. Its not pretty to look at but it is very well located… just opposite Graceland’s and the free tour buses that run into downtown from there. We asked our room to be changed once but the alternative room was of just as shoddy a state (grim beds, scaly bathroom, stained floors, carpets and sheets), at least it was facing reception so felt a little more secure. I’d recommended to someone looking for a short stay but its no palace at all, its location and ease of transportation are to be noted though.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2003

Iwish I had read the review of this hotel that a patron left in January. I too, along with my family, were exausted after traveling and getting lost in Memphis during a storm were able to secure 2 rooms at the hotel that were supposed to be 2 of the better suites. The rooms 409 and 408 were awful. The smell was unbelievable and i cant describe it. The clerk at the desk gave us air freshner but it didn't help. After complaining, they did give my parents a better room, or so we thought. It was still not clean and furnishings had stains throughout...chairs, loveseats, ect.. Upon getting of the couch to go to the bathroom, I discovered my socks were soaked!! I realized that the carpet in the entire suite was getting wet from some source not obvious. I could not sleep, but other family members were already asleep. I went to the clerk again to tell him what was happening and to inform him that we would be leaving shortly. The rate charged for the dump, 104.00 for each room was cut in half and I received a refund for half the money. The place is a dump and should be closed by health officials!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2003

I stayed at the Days Inn Memphis location due to its convenient location to the downtown area. Also Days Inn has a reputation as a clean family oriented motel. This is not the case in this establishment. When going to my room I was startled to find mattresses and commodes on the outside balcony. I thought maybe they were remodeling. But, when I reached my room it was OLD and OUTDATED. The bathroom was disgusting:hair and stains in the tub. I was too afraid to sleep under the covers. We had arrived late night and were exhausted from traveling. Reluctantly, I stayed at the dive but I want to warn anyone from staying in this establishment unless your interested in ... or ...

Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6

Address: 2889 Austin Peay Highway, Memphis, TN 38128 (Formerly Days Inn)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 134 hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.