We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned donuts home made style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gibson's Donuts

Gibson's Donuts
760 Mount Moriah Rd, Memphis, TN 38117
(901) 682-8200
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 24 Bakeries in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Late Night
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Old fashioned donuts home made style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful old fashioned donuts done the right way and the prices are great too. We loved the jelly filled and glazed ones.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    61
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great way to start you day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We planned this stop on our way out of town and were so glad we did. We bought may types, but really enjoyed the New Orleans cake-type and red velvet.Gibson's was a sweet end to a great visit to Memphis.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrish, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“These are Not chain store donuts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

This is a little drive from downtown, but definitely worth the trip! Staff are awesome, making suggestions while he gave us samples on the Fly. Great selection. Maple & Bacon... Just order a half dozen, OMG! What a way to start your morning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graysville
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“First stop and last stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Reading reviews (Trip Advisor, of course) led us to begin our day in Memphis with Gibson's Donuts. What a great idea! We chose several kinds and each one was better than the last. First the yeast donuts: the glazed were spectacular, the glazed twist also great, apple elephant ear delicious, double cinnamon roll, more like a honey bun, still very good. As for the cake donuts: they were the freshest, lightest we've ever had. There were far too many to try them all but when we went back the next morning for some to take home, they were fully stocked again. The most adventurous of our group tried the maple bacon and said it was also good.
No trip to Memphis should miss this classic donut shop. Every kind and description you can imagine and very reasonably priced. I took home a dozen of mixed for only $9.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
406 reviews 406 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“Donuts- old school way!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We saw this restaurant on Trip Advisor and decided we had to go there during our recent trip to Memphis. Wow...we were SO glad we did!!! The donuts were off the chart...just like the old school donuts we both had from the local bakery when we were kids!! Be sure to get the bacon maple donut...a true religious experience!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gibson's Donuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gibson's Donuts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.