We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent staff but noisy at night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Talbot Heirs Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Memphis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Talbot Heirs Guesthouse
Save
You added Talbot Heirs Guesthouse to your Saves list
99 South Second Street, Memphis, TN 38103   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Memphis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent staff but noisy at night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

The room we stayed in was very comfortable and within walking distance to a lot of the main attractions. My only complaint was that in the middle of the night someone in the building was very noisy and it was hard to sleep. Great location if you want to enjoy the nightlife, not so much if you want a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    16
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
155
10
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

Stayed 2 nights in september on our 6 week US tour. One of best hotels/inns we encountered on entire trip from San Francisco to Key West; and we really had lots of good hotels on our way.
Service is personal, helpful and friendly. And fantastic location, 2 minutte walk to Beale st. Rooms are unik and different, and very comfortable.
Not the cheapest place to stay but worth every penny.
Will be back for sure if I ever am in Memphis again. Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Down Under
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

I found Talbot Heirs almost by accident on Tripadvisor and what a find.
We were travelling with friends and looking for a Memphis experience , not a clinical chain hotel room and boy did Talbot Heirs deliver that incredible friendly experience for us.
Tom and Sandy are wonderful hosts and nothing _____I mean nothing is too much trouble for them. We arrived very early in the morning and as expected our rooms were not ready so Tom suggested we try the Arcade Restaurant for breakfast and what a great choice and terrific start to our Memphis visit.
Not only the oldest restaurant in town but a GENUINE trip back in time to a 1950's diner and not to be missed.
Talbot Heirs is in the perfect location right opposite the Peabody Hotel (complete with the ducks) and only a block and a bit from Beale Street.
All the rooms are really studio type appartments, well appointed, full kitchens stocked with goodies to get you started each day, clean, spacious, internet connections, very quiet and private and each one has its own character and charm.
I cannot recommend this place too much______do yourself a favour and give it a try .
You will not be dissappointed.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

My husband and I stayed here while our Memphis condo was going through some renovations. It was very clean, comfortable, and hassle free. The location is superb. A+ across the board.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

Talbot Heirs is the best hideaway which offers a top notch concierge service, great location, romantic privacy, & superb rooms. Tom & Sandy, the owners, made our stay enjoyable, entertaining, informative, and most of all very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

This is THE place to be if you want to experience Memphis. The funky colors, art and clever details let you know that you have stepped into the world of Memphis soul and rock and roll. The hospitality, classy furnishings, and ultra-clean suites remind you that this place is on par with any world class hotel - only better. You can't tell from the web photos how incredibly roomy these suites are. They are like little apartments. Some are studios, others have a second bedroom, but they're all so spacious that the innkeepers should worry their guests might never leave. The colors, plush bedding and well-stocked kitchens just make you feel happy. Each suite is special and unique, some are traditional, others have a more eclectic design. No matter which one you choose, you can't go wrong. We stayed in suite seven, a warm inviting maroon room with a step-up to the full kitchen and a seating bar in-between. Everything was very clean and fresh. The furnishings were all new. The bathroom was a little tight and slightly outdated, but it was clean, functional and comfortable enough.

One thing to think about: this is a very non-traditional B&B. Breakfast is self-serve from a supply of continental-style items stocked in your kitchen. The entire B&B is housed on one floor of a multi-story building. The street entrance is just a door that leads to a stairway. You follow a hallway upstairs and the interior is a long hallway like a floor in an apartment building. Guest room doors line each side of the hall. There isn't a common lounging space - so if you are traveling with folks who need to make noise while you sleep, you'll need a suite with a separate bedroom. Otherwise, there's not really anywhere else to go. Likewise, there wasn't a common area computer when I was there. I needed to do some urgent business work and they let me use their computer - such great people! Just know not to expect a typical B&B in a stand alone home. This is city living at its best.

Our only mistake with the Talbot Heirs was that we only booked one night. We regretted it right away. We should have stayed the week. You walk out the door and you are just a block away from Beale Street, great food and all the Memphis nightlife. It's an easy trolley ride to sights like the Rock and Soul Museum and the Civil Rights Museum. There's plenty to do, see and eat. The music scene is authentic and unmatched. If I could sum up the Talbot Heirs in two words, it would be: "Stay Here!"

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

Found this hotel by chance on the internet,took a liking to one of the suites,we were not disappointed far from it,Sandy & Tom our hosts could not have been more helpful giving info about places to eat,visit,shuttles etc even arranging Champagne for when we
arrived to celebrate our anniversary,two nicer people you would be hard pressed to find,
the suite was furnished beautifully, quirky I'd read, well it certainly was but without doubt
"The only place to stay for us"if we ever get the chance to go back to Memphis(hope so)
ideally situated 5 minutes walk to Beale Street.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Talbot Heirs Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Heirs Guesthouse

Address: 99 South Second Street, Memphis, TN 38103
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Talbot Heirs Guesthouse we provide spacious, comfortable, more creative accommodations suited to a variety of travelers. We are located in the heart of downtown Memphis, within walking distance of Beale Street, fine dining and a variety of entertainment. Our mission is to provide privacy, hospitality and the personal service you deserve when away from home. All of our suites have full kitchens that are stocked with complimentary breakfast items. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Talbot Heirs Guesthouse Hotel Memphis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talbot Heirs Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.