We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay anywhere else!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Talbot Heirs Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Memphis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Talbot Heirs Guesthouse
Save
You added Talbot Heirs Guesthouse to your Saves list
99 South Second Street, Memphis, TN 38103   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Memphis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Don't stay anywhere else!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My wife and I were in our daughter's pediatrician's office about a week prior to our scheduled trip to Memphis, when we came across a magazine article featuring Talbot Heirs. We already had reservations at a hotel because we hadn't been able to find anything like this. Since we rarely stay in conventional hotels, it was a no brainer to cancel our reservations and book a room here.

From the first time I spoke with Sandy on the phone until the minute we checked out, we were treated with pure Southern hospitality at it's finest. All of the positive things that others have said are confirmed with me. After a couple of days, Tom and Sandy left us in the care of Jerry - who is equally as hospitable and helpful. He was essentially our concierge, giving us great tips and advice on things to see and do. He even allowed us to use the washer and dryer. Anyone who has a one year old can appreciate the importance of that.

Our room was great; it had everything we needed for our stay. The fact that it was restocked with milk, orange juice, cookies, granola bars, biscotti's coffee and creamer every day was a great bonus. You might laugh, but they also have good quality toilet paper, not the rough & tough stuff that tears and dissolves on you. The bed was a little creaky, but comfortable. The hot water is HOT, so be careful. The only inconvenience we encountered was the stairs. There is no elevator and no downstairs lobby so we had to keep carrying the stroller up and down each time we came or went.

Overall, I highly recommend Talbot Heirs to anyone that is visiting Memphis. The location is convenient and within easy walking distance to many of the downtown restaurants and attractions and Beale St. is only two blocks away.

Thank you Tom, Sandy and Jerry for providing us with a home away from home!

Room Tip: We were in room 8 and around 11:00 each night we could hear the trash being taken out to the alley f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    16
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
155
10
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I just spent 3 nights at the Talbot Heirs, visiting Memphis for the first time. We always prefer to stay in small B&Bs rather than large hotels. The Talbot Heirs is located in the center of downtown, right across from the Peabody Hotel. The rooms are very large and nicely decorated. Each room had a kitchen which we only used to make coffee, but would serve anyone well who wished to avoid eating out too much. I did miss the traditional breakfast served at most B&Bs as it allows you to meet other guests. However, they are not set up that way. Tom and Sandy are wonderful hosts and were very helpful recommending breakfast places and giving us tips for hearing live music.
NOTE: We were originally supposed to travel to Memphis in October but had to cancel our trip the night before as my husband was ill. I told Sandy we were happy to pay any charge necessary as we were well past the one-week cancellation deadline. However, we were not charged. They may have re-booked the room but in any case would have been well within thewir rights to charge us, and we appreciated that they did not.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We loved it here, we called last minute and they had a room for us for two night. Tom met us downstairs, helped with our bags, drove with my husband to park the car, gave us everything we needed and told us everything we need to know about the area.
The room was gorgeous, great bed, lounge, tv, table, kitchen complete with snacks, drinks and a real teapot! There was also a little balcony/terrace! The hotel is in a great location, close walking distance to the main party street, basketball, tour meeting points etc and Tom and Sandy will help you out with any questions you have. They are extremely interesting people to talk to!
We will definitley be back here again. Looking through the open doors whilst walking down the hallway, all the rooms are completley different but all look amazing. Loved it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The location is great - across the street from the Peabody and in easy walking distance to all the blues clubs, restaurants, sights and Beale Street. Though located in the city centre, the B&B is still far enough away from the late night noise.

The room was spacious, the bathroom was clean and had the softest towels. The kitchen area has all amenities you need (pans, pots, flatware ect.) Also the refrigerator is stocked with milk and orange juice, coffee, cereal, breakfast bars and snacks (free of charge).

There is also free wifi and a folder with suggestions for sightseeing ect. in Nashville. Though the information is a bit outdated.

Overall, cozy and perfect for a getaway in Memphis. The owners Tom and Sandy are very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

A great tip for Memphis is to take trolley. We jumped on the Main Street trolley & Riverfront trolley a Sunday afternoon and got a lovely tour through the city and along the river.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed at the Talbot Heirs guesthouse for five days in November this year. We visited Nashville,Florence,Tupelo and New Orleans during our month trip in the U.S. Talbot Heirs was by far the best accommodation we had in the entire trip.Tom and Sandy were so helpful and really went out of their way to do all they could to make our stay as good as possible. I can still see Tom flagging us down as we turned our hire car into 2nd St. We knew straight away that we were going to be well looked after. Tom even went with my husband to return the hire car and,as others mentioned, helped us in with out "oh so heavy cases" Coming from the UK for a month we needed so much!
We loved our suite, it was so private,comfortable and unique, yet just a stone'sthrow away from all the major places. What a lovelychangefrom the run of the mill hotel chains.
A variety of cereals/cereal bars ,fresh juice,milk, tea, coffee--all one needs to start the day.
We'd recommend this excellent accommodation to anyone- first class. Many thanks to you, Tom, for all the humorous chats we had "puttingtheworldtorights"and to you Sandy for your lovely,welcoming smile.
Gloria and John
Wales,UK

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich / Switzerland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

That is what one should expect from the prefect guesthouse/ specialty lodging. The warmest possible hosts that know the area but do not want to hang around with you all the time. A great location. And a fantastic lodging. Well done!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylorville, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were in town for our 36th anniversary and decided to try something different. The Talbot Heirs certainly delivered!! Upon entering (Tom carried our bags up) you can sense the history in the building. The room was very comfortable and topped a nearby "chain" motel in cleanliness by leaps and bounds .The close proximity to downtown enabled us to walk to almost everything we had planned on seeing. Our hosts were friendly and helpful without being intrusive. They gave us several suggestions for eateries as well as entertainment. After visiting Memphis in September and again in November we refer to it as our new favorite city and the Talbot Heirs just gave us one more reason to want to come back!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Talbot Heirs Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Heirs Guesthouse

Address: 99 South Second Street, Memphis, TN 38103
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Talbot Heirs Guesthouse we provide spacious, comfortable, more creative accommodations suited to a variety of travelers. We are located in the heart of downtown Memphis, within walking distance of Beale Street, fine dining and a variety of entertainment. Our mission is to provide privacy, hospitality and the personal service you deserve when away from home. All of our suites have full kitchens that are stocked with complimentary breakfast items. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Talbot Heirs Guesthouse Hotel Memphis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talbot Heirs Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.