We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Memphis!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Talbot Heirs Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Memphis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Talbot Heirs Guesthouse
99 South Second Street, Memphis, TN 38103 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Memphis B&B and Inns
Brisbane
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Memphis!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We loved it here, we called last minute and they had a room for us for two night. Tom met us downstairs, helped with our bags, drove with my husband to park the car, gave us everything we needed and told us everything we need to know about the area.
The room was gorgeous, great bed, lounge, tv, table, kitchen complete with snacks, drinks and a real teapot! There was also a little balcony/terrace! The hotel is in a great location, close walking distance to the main party street, basketball, tour meeting points etc and Tom and Sandy will help you out with any questions you have. They are extremely interesting people to talk to!
We will definitley be back here again. Looking through the open doors whilst walking down the hallway, all the rooms are completley different but all look amazing. Loved it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    14
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
134
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The location is great - across the street from the Peabody and in easy walking distance to all the blues clubs, restaurants, sights and Beale Street. Though located in the city centre, the B&B is still far enough away from the late night noise.

The room was spacious, the bathroom was clean and had the softest towels. The kitchen area has all amenities you need (pans, pots, flatware ect.) Also the refrigerator is stocked with milk and orange juice, coffee, cereal, breakfast bars and snacks (free of charge).

There is also free wifi and a folder with suggestions for sightseeing ect. in Nashville. Though the information is a bit outdated.

Overall, cozy and perfect for a getaway in Memphis. The owners Tom and Sandy are very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

A great tip for Memphis is to take trolley. We jumped on the Main Street trolley & Riverfront trolley a Sunday afternoon and got a lovely tour through the city and along the river.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Talbot Heirs guesthouse for five days in November this year. We visited Nashville,Florence,Tupelo and New Orleans during our month trip in the U.S. Talbot Heirs was by far the best accommodation we had in the entire trip.Tom and Sandy were so helpful and really went out of their way to do all they could to make our stay as good as possible. I can still see Tom flagging us down as we turned our hire car into 2nd St. We knew straight away that we were going to be well looked after. Tom even went with my husband to return the hire car and,as others mentioned, helped us in with out "oh so heavy cases" Coming from the UK for a month we needed so much!
We loved our suite, it was so private,comfortable and unique, yet just a stone'sthrow away from all the major places. What a lovelychangefrom the run of the mill hotel chains.
A variety of cereals/cereal bars ,fresh juice,milk, tea, coffee--all one needs to start the day.
We'd recommend this excellent accommodation to anyone- first class. Many thanks to you, Tom, for all the humorous chats we had "puttingtheworldtorights"and to you Sandy for your lovely,welcoming smile.
Gloria and John
Wales,UK

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich / Switzerland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

That is what one should expect from the prefect guesthouse/ specialty lodging. The warmest possible hosts that know the area but do not want to hang around with you all the time. A great location. And a fantastic lodging. Well done!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylorville, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were in town for our 36th anniversary and decided to try something different. The Talbot Heirs certainly delivered!! Upon entering (Tom carried our bags up) you can sense the history in the building. The room was very comfortable and topped a nearby "chain" motel in cleanliness by leaps and bounds .The close proximity to downtown enabled us to walk to almost everything we had planned on seeing. Our hosts were friendly and helpful without being intrusive. They gave us several suggestions for eateries as well as entertainment. After visiting Memphis in September and again in November we refer to it as our new favorite city and the Talbot Heirs just gave us one more reason to want to come back!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Island, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Talbot Heirs was more than we had hoped for. The proprietors met us on the street in front of the hotel and took our luggage to the suite. The room was perfectly clean, eclectic and welcoming! The bed was soft yet firm with Sleep innovation mattress padding! The shower is to die for with the most water pressure I have ever experienced anywhere. Lots of steamy hot water instantly. Sandie and Tom are knowledgeable about everything the city has to offer, and are more than willing to help with anything needed. The Talbot Heirs in across from the Peabody right down town so there is no parking ,but they took us to a parking deck around the corner and for 10 dollars a day we had convenient parking! Everything is in walking distance.
Every morning Tara cleans the room, replenishes the complementary coffee, biscotti and snacks along with waters and juices, cereal and milk. The linens are comfortable and the towels are plush. Each suite offers an original decor and a full kitchen. One suite even has a Baby Grand piano. My husband commented that it was like being at home rather than in a hotel. There is no elevator, everything is on the second floor so no problem. At check out they assist with bringing your luggage down and helping load up your car. Leaving the Talbot Heirs felt like leaving your home and family.
Thank you Tom and Sandie and Tara for making our stay the most memorable experience we have ever had!

Room Tip: If you smoke ask for a room with a balcony! There is no view but who cares!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We recently stayed at the Talbot Heirs and can thoroughly recommend it. The front door is locked and only accessible to guests with a key.

Location - Talbot Heirs is extremely well located close to Beale Street and within walking distance of most attractions. It is right opposite the Peabody Hotel which is massively more expensive and probably not as good as Talbot Heirs. The parking garage used by TH is just down the street. The streetcar/tram is just behind the Talbot Heirs and is dirt cheap to ride on. Despite what you might hear we found the area to be fine and didn't feel unsafe even at night.

Rooms - We stayed in one of the cheaper rooms but it was still amazing with an eclectic decor and lots of room. Our room was a vast open space with a bedroom leading up to a good size kitchen. Bathroom was a little dated and the shower took a little bit of time to work out how to use but overall these were very minor issues. Compared to a standard hotel room the feeling of having that much space is very welcome. The kitchen is well stocked with items not just for breakfast but little snacks as well. Plus there is OJ and bottled water.

Breakfast - Be aware that breakfast is a self-prepared job so this isn't a true B&B but they provide a good range of items to make yourself a breakfast. It's mainly cereals and packaged things so if you want hot food you will need to arrange that yourself. For us it was more than enough with the coffee and tea provided.

Hosts - This is a standout. Everyone we met during our time were such interesting and wonderful people. Extremely helpful and friendly and always willing to share their advice and wisdom especially on eating options. Their office is located at the end of the corridor and open from early in the morning to late at night. Their door was literally open with someone at the desk ready to provide friendly advice or just to say hello.

Parking - As above, the parking garage is an easy walk away. Parking I think was $10 a night which is reasonable considering the room prices are pretty cheap anyway. They provide you with a swipe pass so you can come and go as you please.

Eating out - We ate at Rendezvous one night which was superb. A fantastic example of Memphis BBQ. We also ate at Gus' Chicken which was good but not great.

Attractions - The Peabody ducks are worth checking out. The hosts at Talbot Heirs have good tips on how to get a good viewing spot. Beale Street is just down the street and The Rock n Soul museum a quick walk. From there you can get the shuttle bus to Graceland and Sun Records. The National Civil Rights Museum is a short walk or streetcar ride away and we would recommend it as a must-see attraction. One of the best museums we have visited.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Talbot Heirs Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Heirs Guesthouse

Address: 99 South Second Street, Memphis, TN 38103
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Talbot Heirs Guesthouse we provide spacious, comfortable, more creative accommodations suited to a variety of travelers. We are located in the heart of downtown Memphis, within walking distance of Beale Street, fine dining and a variety of entertainment. Our mission is to provide privacy, hospitality and the personal service you deserve when away from home. All of our suites have full kitchens that are stocked with complimentary breakfast items. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Talbot Heirs Guesthouse Hotel Memphis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talbot Heirs Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Talbot Heirs Guesthouse to your Saves list