We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River Inn, True Southern Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Save Saved
You added River Inn of Harbor Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
River Inn of Harbor Town
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Harbor Town Sq., Memphis, TN 38103   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$198 (USD)
Ranked #1 of 135 hotels in Memphis
Homer City, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“River Inn, True Southern Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The River Inn was spectacular. The staff greeted us warmly and was very helpful with recommending various tourists attractions in the area. We loved the location and were able to take nightly strolls along the Mississippi River and watch the sun set. There was a pianist playing in the lobby every evening along with champagne (we don't drink, but we enjoyed the music). The room was meticulously clean. Paulette's restaurant had a wonderful breakfast. Supper was not very tasty and over priced. The wait staff were outstanding, professional, and friendly! We enjoyed talking with Patrick W.every morning. I will definitely return to the River Inn on my next visit to Memphis!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    310
    45
    15
    8
    7
See reviews for
42
250
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, England
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I say this advisedly, the location of this hotel on Mud Island being separated from downtown Memphis by the Wolf River. Downtown Memphis is most definitely not memorable or pretty ! Many strange characters, seedy bits, etc. Strangely, you go over the bridge to Mud Island, a fairly scale community, and you enter a different world. The River Inn is very high spec, rooms were superbly furnished, and has 2 very nice restaurants on site, one formal and one more relaxed. For the price there is nowhere else to stay in Memphis - it puts the Peabody in the shade. Lovely walks along the Mississippi and, if you can stand the heat, you can stroll down to Riverwalk where there's an intriguing white elephant model of the entire Mississippi River complete with water flows and quite interesting graphic descriptions. Only problem is there was no-one there......despite what must have been a huge construction bill.
Would definitely stay again but unlikely to return to Memphis.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceanside, ca
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

When visiting the raucous downtown area of Memphis, I recommend this quiet retreat. Set just outside of downtown, the comfortable bed, welcoming staff and good restaurant make this a nice way to start or end your day. Easy access to all Memphis activities a stroll along the Mississippi will complete the visit.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Currently touring the US, this hotel was our first experience of the US, I have to say it has completely spoiled us. Beautiful rooms,romantic and cosy, so comfortable with plenty of thoughtful extras, great location waking up looking at the Mississippi every morning, outstanding complimentary breakfast, turn down drinks and truffles
The most impressive thing about this hotel though is the staff, southern hospitality at its best, felt so welcome, safe and really loved every minute. Patrick in the restaurant Paulette's really helped to make our holiday- special guy
Staff on reception were most helpful- my favourite hotel that I've every stayed in
We will absolutely go back, don't hesitate in booking its worth every penny

Room Tip: Ask for a river view, the Mississippi is stunning and you get a great sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We did a road trip through Tn.starting with the Smokey Mountains and then over to Memphis. We new right off the bat this was a special place as the girl at the front desk could not do enough for us.The room was beautiful and had a view of the river, the four-poster bed was very comfortable, the bed and bath linens were high quality. We also had a very nice view of the river.The hotel includes a full complimentary breakfast at Paulette's. I loved the blueberry pancakes . This was a perfect distance away from downtown, as when we finished up down there a short drive to this quite relaxing inn was perfect.

Room Tip: This is a small inn, I thing 24 rooms in all so don't wait too long to book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I cannot say enough about the wonderful experience of my visit to the River Inn of Harbor Town! The uber friendly staff, the offer of wine or champagne upon arrival, the awesome complimentary breakfast( more than continental), beautiful room with a view of the Mississippi River! Great dining opportunities at Paulette's (fine dining) or the more casual atmosphere of Tugg's . Everything was awesome! We were there for a Steely Dan concert at the Mud Island Amphitheater, about one mile from the hotel. I recommend that you call as far in advance as possible because this hotel sells out!

Room Tip: I had room 322. Loved it! If you need more room, choose a suite..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We visited as part of our 35th wedding anniversary tour. The hotel staff could not be more helpful, we were upgraded to a suite which overlooked the Missippi river, really good. A complimentary bottle of fizz in the room and we were very pleased. There are two eateries Paulette's and Tug's both wre great. Must give a mention to Matthew in Tug's he was really helpful and helped us plan our itinerary.
Really have no problems in recommending tis hotel to anyone. Situated adjacent to the river in a great spot out of town but close enough to experience all the attractions.
Thanks River Inn you really made our stay special.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to River Inn of Harbor Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Inn of Harbor Town

Also Known As:
River Inn Of Harbor Town Hotel Memphis
River Inn Of Harbor Town Hotel
River Hotel Memphis
River Hotel Of Harbor Town
Address: 50 Harbor Town Sq., Memphis, TN 38103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#1 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#1 Business Hotel in Memphis
#11 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Inn of Harbor Town 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your River Inn of Harbor Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Inn of Harbor Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.