We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and relaxing in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added River Inn of Harbor Town to your Saves list
River Inn of Harbor Town
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Harbor Town Sq., Memphis, TN 38103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Beloit, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely and relaxing in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

When searching for a place to stay while exploring Memphis for the first time, we chose this location to enjoy the walk along the river and drive short distances to restaurants and tourist
sites. We highly recommend this Inn. We were welcomed with drinks and graciousnes and told we had been upgraded to larger quarters! Yay! It is fun to walk around Harbor Town and you are away from the big hotels and party noises. There is no charge for parking. We recommend this place and definitely would return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    59
    17
    10
    9
See reviews for
55
332
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

River Inn is a delightful hotel with European ambiance, a beautiful combination of comfortable and elegant. We enjoyed a glass of wine on arrival, live piano music before a roaring fire in the lobby in the afternoons and a delicious gourmet breakfast every morning - the stone ground grits with cheese were my favorite! Staff is friendly and helpful, steered us well through our time in Memphis. The location is wonderful as well, right on the Mississippi River in a planned community called Harbor Town. In addition to Paulette's at the hotel, there are wonderful places to eat nearby and a hip grocery that offers gourmet foods and organic produce. Would stay here again in a heartbeat, now one of my all-time favorites.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

River Inn offers a nice combination of comfy with elegance. There's a fire burning in the lobby with a pianist in the late afternoon and every day we enjoyed resting and enjoying the original artwork and live music. The rooms are delightful, the gourmet breakfast delicious and the staff helpful and nice. It reminded us of a quaint European hotel. And the view! The hotel is located right on the Mississippi River so views are spectacular, especially during the sunset. Restaurants, a fun grocery store and other retail outlets are within a short walk.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in January 2013. We were unsure of the position in Harbor Town as we didn't have a car, but this hotel is a short walk to the trolley that takes you to all the Downtown sights (daily pass $3.50). This hotel doesn't skimp on anything: a welcome glass of wine or sparkling in the lounge (complete with a pianist), fresh coffee in the morning outside your room, nightly port and chocolates and a 1st rate breakfast in the dining room is included. Staff are super friendly and helpful and we couldn't fault anything except we may have put on weight eating such sumptuous breakfasts!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in late Septembear early October 2012. We had the most wonderful stay here. Very easy drive to all Memphis attractions. Beautiful decor, rooms very clean and the staff were attentive and warmly friendly. Breakfast was a treat, included a varied menu of tasty delights. We had a river view room and enjoyed a wonderfully restful sleep every night. We dined in the restauraunt twice and each time was a really beautiful dining experience. Will return one day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is the best place to stay, relax and be pampered. We stayed here for our New Year's Eve night and the service is very accommodating and impeccably good taste. The 4 course dinner at Paulette's was amazing. They have the best Chef and service! The view of the Mississippi River from our room was very enjoyable. We will be back again and again. We give them a perfect 10!

Room Tip: Ask for the view of the Mighty Mississippi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

You can't go wrong staying at the River Inn. Harbor Town itself offers this boutique hotel up as a worthwhile staycation (if you're a Memphian) or the perfect place for a getaway/business trip - doesn't matter what the occasion, the River Inn will not disappoint. One of Memphis's trademark, historical restaurants, Paulette's, has been relocated from old midtown right into the heart of this hotel (first floor) - an added treat.

It's spoiled by its location being at the edge of both Harbor Town and downtown (with quick access to I-40), you can't go wrong with this property.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Inn of Harbor Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Inn of Harbor Town

Address: 50 Harbor Town Sq., Memphis, TN 38103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#1 Business Hotel in Memphis
#1 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#4 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Inn of Harbor Town 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your River Inn of Harbor Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Inn Of Harbor Town Hotel Memphis
River Hotel Memphis
River Hotel Of Harbor Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Inn of Harbor Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.