We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST. HOTEL. EVER.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added River Inn of Harbor Town to your Saves list
River Inn of Harbor Town
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Harbor Town Sq., Memphis, TN 38103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Jackson, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“BEST. HOTEL. EVER.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I've been a tripadvisor stalker for a long time, but never felt inspired (good experience or bad) to write a review. After a few days at the River Inn, I knew I had to write about this amazing Inn. My husband and I do quite a bit of traveling and this place is the most perfect place we've ever experienced. The staff could not be friendlier or more helpful -- from the welcome (glass of wine included) when checking in, to the cleaning staff, waiters, everyone! There was always a fresh pot of coffee waiting for us each morning in the hallway outside our room and a glass of wine and chocolate waiting for us each night when we returned from dinner. The rooms were beautifully and comfortably decorated and always immaculate. We had a lovely view of the Mississippi River. The breakfast that was included was AMAZING... it's worth staying at the Inn for the apple pancakes alone! I can't say enough great things about this hotel. Absolute perfection! If you're in the Memphis area, this is the only place to stay.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the Mississippi River. Lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    59
    17
    10
    9
See reviews for
55
332
15
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Everything about the River Inn is fantastic - the rooms, the pillows, the towels, the fireplace, the turndown service. It's a 10 out of 10.

We ended up here on Christmas Day and everything about the River Inn was the perfect way to end Christmas, right down to the warm welcome at the front desk.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the River Inn for one night for our anniversary. The staff at the hotel was extremely helpful and polite, and and we loved the old feel of the hotel. There is a little 'library' room with memorobilia and books where they serve the morning coffee. Our weekend also came with breakfast at Paulette's, which was divine. The room was plush and the view was nice. The bed was so comfy with high-end sheets and a comforter that envelopes you while you sleep. Great hotel! The only negative was that it is a bit pricey, but we found it worth the price!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa cruz, ca
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We booked this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews, and we were not sorry! Southern hospitality at it's finest - great front desk staff & room attendants. The rooms were spacious, beautifully decorated, and sparkly clean. And the breakfast - WOW - fantastic. Stay at this hotel - we are SO glad we did.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stayed at the River Inn with my wife, for one night only, as we went on a weekend in Memphis.
This clearly is one of the best hotels I've ever been to.
The location in Harbor Town is great - the surroundings look great, quiet, and you're only a short drive from downtown.
The hotel itself looks great. The atmosphere is very retro, but really charming.
The lobby with a fireplace and someone playing piano is great, perfect for a winter evening! They also have a nice small bar there.
There was a small library on our floor where coffee is available all day, as well as a room with computers, for guests' use.
What struck me most was probably the service.
You're welcome with a glass of wine or champagne which is great, but above all you can feel the hospitality is genuine. Staff make you feel like they're happy to have you here, and want to make sure everything goes well for you. It's quite a change from pre-made sentences people have learned from a book, that you get in so many hotels.
In the evening, they will bring more champagne and chocolates to your room!

Paulette restaurant, located in the building, is really good, both for dinner and breakfast.

Overall, this hotel was one of the best hotel nights I've ever had; I wish we'd stayed longer!
I can only recommend it to anyone traveling to Memphis.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

I stayed there one night while in business trip. This was a great surprise for a boutique hotel.
The staff is very friendly, you are welcome at check in with a glass of champagne, get chocolates in your room, complimentary breakfast at Paulette's ( and what a great breakfast!), complimentary wifi, and a great lobby with a real fireplace!
Either on vacation or on business trip, it is to me the perfect place up stay in Memphis.
The big plus is the free access to the local fitness center a block away.
Cannot wait to come back to Memphis to enjoy that hotel and go to Paulette's restaurant again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My husband and I were in Memphis for a musical at the Orpheum and stayed overnight at River Inn in Harbor Town. What a wonderful experience from start to finish! The staff was outstanding. The penthouse suite was warm, comfortable and inviting. Finally, the food experience(both evening meal and complementary breakfast) were delightful at Paulette's on the premises. They have a real gem in Patrick, the friendly, helpful waiter at Paulette's! We will definitely tell our friends to stay at River Inn when they are in Memphis for a memorable, charming experience!

Jody Scruggs
Oxford, Ms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to River Inn of Harbor Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Inn of Harbor Town

Address: 50 Harbor Town Sq., Memphis, TN 38103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Memphis
#1 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#1 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#4 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Inn of Harbor Town 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your River Inn of Harbor Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Inn Of Harbor Town Hotel Memphis
River Hotel Memphis
River Hotel Of Harbor Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Inn of Harbor Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.