We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Grille

Majestic Grille
145 S Main St, Memphis, TN 38103 (Downtown)
(901) 522-8555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Majestic Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 1,272 Restaurants in Memphis
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Peabody
Transit: Peabody Place Trolley Stop
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The place is very pretty. Filets are better than the New york strip ( lots of fat). The filets are served with a garlic butter on top so if your not a fan ask for it on the side. Flat bread was good but wish I would have ordered a sandwich. The cheese/meat tray is not good for the price at all get another appetizer instead. Our waiter was very good. Sitting up front by the window is cold in the winter. We will return but will go for more of the causal food

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    156
    45
    17
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We live in Memphis and have eaten here many times. The food is fine but the service has never been great. On our most recent visit, we took my parents who were in town for a special event and were looking forward to a nice night out. I made the reservation online about 2 weeks prior to their visit and specifically asked to be seated downstairs as it is very difficult for my 75-year-old mother to climb stairs (there are quite a few stairs in the restaurant). When we checked in with the host, we were told he didn't have a single table downstairs. He apologized but seemed to have no real understanding of how difficult it would be for her to climb all the stairs. We really had no choice but to stay due to timing. We were then shown to a high top table along the upstairs wall. If you have eaten here you know that these are not desirable tables (crowded, small, uncomfortable), especially for older people. When we asked to move to a more comfortable table, he moved us but acted a little "put out" by the request. We all enjoyed our food but never saw our waiter until he brought the check! The staff is very young and don't appear to understand basic customer service. Sad for a restaurant that is otherwise a very enjoyable place to eat!! There are many other nice choices of restaurants in Memphis and it will be a while before we go back here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Best Steak I've Ever Eaten!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

My wife and I both ordered the filet Gorgonzola. It was incredible. Had a balsamic glaze sauce with it as well. Would highly recommend this restaurant if you're visiting downtown Memphis. Cool location on historic Main St. too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, VA USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Sorry the server spoiled my meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Everyone loves ribs in Memphis, but in addition to ribs, this restaurant had a variety of food in a fun atmosphere.

They have a nice selection of flat bread pizzas. I ordered one that had grilled chicken and other ingredients. Unfortunately there were bones in the chicken ON the pizza.

When the waiter came round, which was rare, I mentioned to him there were a few bones, so he may wish to let the kitchen know to keep an eye out for them. He sarcastically said to my table mate "How bout you? Did you have bones in your ribs too?"

That was all.

A perfectly rude ending to a nice meal. I am not going to go all over yelp and waste time contacting them as we were on a road trip and made a special stop in Memphis. I am going to write this review however. Not giving them terrible marks, just average to even it out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“St. Jude Marathon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We're in Memphis for the St. Jude Marathon (which unfortunately was cancelled). We stayed at the Peabody Hotel and wanted a restaurant nearby for our pre-race dinner. The Majestic Grille offered numerous vegetarian options. We made reservations on opentable about a week ahead of time. They have great salads, flat breads and pastas. Our server was pretty absent, but the food was good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Majestic Grille also viewed

 

Been to Majestic Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.