We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT BREAKFAST!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miss Polly's Soul City Cafe

Miss Polly's Soul City Cafe
154 Beale St., Memphis, TN (Downtown)
(901) 527-9060
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #99 of 1,262 restaurants in Memphis
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Downtown
Schaumburg, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“GREAT BREAKFAST!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

After vacationing in Memphis for the past 5yrs, we stumbled upon Miss Polly's for breakfast one weekday morning. It was our last day in Memphis and we wanted to walk on Beale Street one more time before we left...pretty much stumbled upon Miss Polly's for breakfast and OMG was it good !!!!! I had polish sausage and eggs for breakfast and it was sooo good I make it for breakfast at home occasionally. Will forever be on our list of places to go for breakfast when we are in Memphis.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    86
    71
    29
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Early morning treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were waiting for Beale Street to wake up and dropped in for a great cup of coffee. We decided to share some biscuits and gravy. They were hot and very tasty.Other near by dishes looked good also. The historic decor was very cool.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“maria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Food was good nice as well as the service, waiters were kind and made sure we didn't have to wait long for the food..

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Went in on a recommendation that Miss Polly's has the best chicken and waffles in town, having never had this before I can't compare it to anything else but it was pretty darn good! Ok service but it was a saturday night. Place was full and had a nice atmosphere.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“PORK CHOPS, FRIED PIES, AND GREENS...OH MY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were in Memphis for the day.

We had a late lunch on Beale St. at Miss Polly's.

We had the fried green tomatoes which were good.

I ordered the fried pork chops with mashed potatoes and greens.

Those were the best greens I have ever eaten. I don't know what was in them, but they were off the chain.

To top it off we had one of their fried pies which is home made off site.

They fried it up in a small iron skillet with butter, and then put a serving of vanilla ice cream on top of that.

Let me say the melding of the ice cream and butter was out of this world.

I am looking forward to going back to Memphis just to eat there.

The environment is very rustic and no frills. Do not expect a top hat and tails serving experience.

The tables are mismatched and there is a roll of paper towels on the table.

You are right in the middle of the action on Beale. I highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miss Polly's Soul City Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Miss Polly's Soul City Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miss Polly's Soul City Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.