We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food way too loud” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Mexican Restaurante and Cantina

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Happy Mexican Restaurante and Cantina
385 S. Second St, Memphis, TN 38103 (Downtown)
(901) 529-9991
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #440 of 1,271 Restaurants in Memphis
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Green Valley, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“good food way too loud”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The food was great, huge portions, very good and attentive service from the waiter and busboy. The place is WAY TOO LOUD. Customers were screaming at each other to be heard. I had the shrimp with chipotle sauce and was impressed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    8
    8
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Unhappy happy birthday!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Went to Happy Mexican with large group. Manager asked if anyone had a birthday since he wanted to bring complimentary desserts for everyone. It happened to be my husband's birthday so we told the manager. After the desserts arrived my husband was surrounded by several waiters who put a sombrero on his head, poured tequila down his throat and hit him in the face with a plate of whipped cream!! It was totally humiliating and bordered on abuse! I would never go there again! And the veggie quesadilla was horrible. . . the only veggie besides refried beans was oily mushrooms. Yuck!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“U want me to leave my credit card where..with who? Why?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I CAN'T BELIEVE that they actually expect anyone toleave their credit card at the hostess desk while we are at a table DRINKING and having a good time. Are these people STUPID or what? Have they not heard of identity theft???

This is supposedly necessary if you have a large party (more than 4 people) becuase folks have run out on them and not paid the bill. How about calling the cops? Why would ANYONE agree to do this? They lost my business - and the 9 other folks that came with us to celebrate that night. I doubt they'll survive for long losing customers at that clip!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You are asking me for review about THAT place ??”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The last 2 times I went there I threw up. Anything else I need to say? Ok, here we go: the old shrimp wasn't cooked in any way. The invoice was obscenely high, the waiters arrogant and ignorant. Stay away from this place, if you want to be happy camper!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Baby shower”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We just held a friends baby shower here. Great food, good prices. Staff was super accomidating. Will def return. The decor is just darling as well

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Mexican Restaurante and Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Happy Mexican Restaurante and Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Mexican Restaurante and Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.