We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Street Noise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1177 Madison Avenue, Memphis, TN 38104-2202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #26 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Carlsbad, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Street Noise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We had room 421 in the North wing and the street noise on a Saturday night terrible. It kept us awake a lot during the night. This hotel need double pane windows. The air conditioning in out room was real noise when it turns on for cooling. If you stay here stay away from street side rooms

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    83
    26
    16
    12
See reviews for
36
84
14
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Delta, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Scary area and the staff have little consideration for helping. Having never been to Memphis before I checked in online. The pictures seemed fair and the hotel lobby is okay. Once I arrived it was dark and this area was NOT a good area. I had two rooms booked and just wanted to get out of there as fast as possible. They would not refund even one of the rooms. The hotel was not booked up. The manager the next day said she would look into doing something for me and would call me back. I never got a call? I guess I will just have to chalk this up to a bad experience. Sadly, I stay in Best Westerns a great deal in my travels. The status of having a Diamond membership seems questionable right now. Not sure how committed I will be to maintain my membership?

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
I want to apologize for not meeting your expectations. I won't lie area does seem unsafe when you pull up to the hotel. Especially when women are traveling alone But, let me assure you our hotel is very safe the parking is gated with only one entrance into the hotel where we have a front desk representative throughout the day and night. We have many students stay with us when interviewing at nearby universities as well as many guests with loved ones at nearby hospitals that walk to and from these places without any trouble. As well as many of our European travelers who walk to the trolley stop which is 2 blocks from the hotel to get to the downtown area.


Jennifer Bhikha
Gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The room was fine and on a quiet end of the building. The elevators are very slow. I don't know how a property become a BW Plus and I have stayed in other BW Plus properties, all of which seemed more up to date than this one. It just looks tired inside, except for the room. Relatively convenient (I didn't have a car). The trolley runs on Madison. A couple of blocks south is Union and buses in to downtown run on it, but they are more expensive than the trolley. Staff here is very helpful. A bit pricey for location and property condition. No cleaning/room make up service on Sunday. This is fine, but wish I'd been told.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Nice hotel close to interstate. 100% smoke free which was a major reason we chose this location. Many, many hotels were sold out for the night so lucky to get this place. While on the road & less than 2 hours away, we were we were able to make a reservation using our Gold Crown points for a free night.

Very large room seemed to be recently updated. Clean, comfortable room with recliner chair. Beds comfortable but pillows a bit soft for us. There was a good-sized refrigerator but no microwave. Calvin was at the front desk both in the late evening & in the morning. He was very friendly & helpful. He was able to store our ice bottles in their freezer as there was no freezer section in the refrigerator. He was also the one stocking the breakfast service. Decent typical BW breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

LInda helped us from the time we checked in until the time we left. They were changing over the cable but it didn't really affect us. Was in town for business and stayed three days. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We decided to stay one night in Memphis and selected this hotel after reviewing the trip advisor reviews. We were happy with the experience. Friendly staff at check in, free on-site parking, quiet area, clean room. We decided to take a taxi out that evening and it was a reasonable fee. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We had a pleasant 3 night stay at the Gen X hotel. Access to/from the interstate highway is quite good but can be a bit tricky depending upon which way you are going and a GPS is helpful. The services provided were exactly what we expect from a BW hotel...very good. We had a king room on the top floor and found it very comfortable and quiet. This is a smaller hotel in terms of the number or rooms, which we also liked. We used the streetcar on 2 of the days to travel to and from the downtown center, which worked out very well. The streetcar stops are a couple of long blocks on either side of the hotel (you will need exact fare).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

Address: 1177 Madison Avenue, Memphis, TN 38104-2202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Memphis
#23 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gen x Hotel Memphis
Gen x Hotel
Gen x Memphis
Gen x Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.