We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drive-Thru Barbecue at Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corky's BBQ

Corky's BBQ
5259 Poplar Ave, Memphis, TN 38119-3513
(901) 685-9744
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 1,271 Restaurants in Memphis
Price range: $0 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Drive-Thru Barbecue at Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I went to the drive thru at Corky's on Poplar last week and it was delicious. Sweet tea is great if you like really, really sweet tea.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    624
    243
    91
    27
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

You know a restaurant is going to be great when it's about three quarters full on a Thursday night at 5 pm! Corky's is a local institution where lots of visiting VIPs make a stop, such as President Bill Clinton, Governor Mitt Romney, and Vice President Dan Quayle.
Husband loved the ribs with a dry rub, and I enjoyed the barbequed chicken. Large, fresh salad with a terrific house dressing of mixed ranch and BBQ sauce. Do not miss this place!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic taste of Memphis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Best BBQ in Memphis, and great casual atmosphere with friendly, competent staff that handled our large group extremely well

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Memphis BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

What a great place to eat. The atmosphere and food were excellent. Keisha was out waitress and couldn't have been nicer. Be warned, it can get loud, but the food is worth it and so are the smiles and the hugs :)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
1 review
“Great Barbeque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great ribs. My son and I shared a rack, half wet and half dry. They were extremely tender and had great flavor. The sauce is on the sweeter side which I like. We also had the onion loaf which was great. You can't stop eating it. We will go back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Corky's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corky's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.