We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Plate Cafe

Blue Plate Cafe
5469 Poplar Ave, Memphis, TN 38119-3705
901-761-9696
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #106 of 1,252 restaurants in Memphis
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Arrington, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Great place to eat. We had breakfast and couldn't believe how much food! We should have shared a plate. They pay attention to the little details like warming the syrup for the pancakes. Awesome sweet tea. I'm picky about my tea. It has to be a certain color, clearness, and sweetness. Theirs was beautiful. Biscuits were big and light with a good taste. We will look forward to eating here again when we are in town.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    71
    55
    16
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Southern breakfast in Memphis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We walked over here from the hotel and they had changed their hours to 8am, so we walked around and came back about 10 minutes after their opening time and the restaurant was already half full. Believe me, worth the wait. Starts with the best biscuits ever, light and fluffy and baked on premises, and served with sawmill gravy. Then you get breakfast! I had country ham - real country ham, and a good sized piece - with eggs and grits. My husband had a perfectly cooked omelet and a side of sausage, so much food we could not finish! I was expecting a 'hole in the wall' but we were pleasantly surprised - it was bright and pleasant right down to the blue checkered tablecloths.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First time having Chicken Fried anything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The restaurant is across from a lovely park/square. Great location and an easy walk from the Beale Street area. I had chicken fried steak, eggs and hash browns. The service was great. The food was seasoned to perfection and I'd definitely have chicken fried steak with the pepper gravy again.

$25.00 for 2 of us for breakfast.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Grove, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, not too long of a wait. Typical breakfast food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I've heard about this place and had to try it. I love breakfast and the wait was not too long. I would say the food was typical for breakfast, not real special. They did have some unique pancake choices that looked promising. My omelet was average along with the regular pancakes. Prices were good.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickwick, Mississippi, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

food great, service great, parking terrible but worth the wait of circling the parking lot to find a spot, wife said the sawmill gravy was to die for, pancakes were great and they had warm syrup very nice touch, omelet was average bacon cooked to perfection, prices very reasonable. a must go too

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Plate Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Blue Plate Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Plate Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.