We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biscuit rating alone would be a 5” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Plate Cafe

Blue Plate Cafe
5469 Poplar Ave, Memphis, TN 38119-3705
901-761-9696
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 1,262 Restaurants in Memphis
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
New Baltimore, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Biscuit rating alone would be a 5”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had an early flight on Sunday morning, and were looking for a decent locals b fast around 7am. Found this on trip advisor and while not anything else (other than a chain, Perkins), was open we stopped. So glad we did! Service was not overly mushy friendly, but very very efficient. She even had us laughing, and my coffee cop never went empty. The grits and breakfast biscuits were truly the highlight! And good coffee to boot! We will be back on our next visit for sure! Downside was the over easy eggs were a but over done, and hubby thought the gravy was a but too peppery- but I will admit, we are northerners! Again biscuits were the fluffiest, and best we have had- even better then his southern Mammas!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    64
    16
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast in Memphis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Biscuits, gravy, waffles, pancakes, ham, sausages and coffee. All good and served with a smile. I would eat here everyday if I lived in Memphis.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Biscuit Time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Omg!!! The biscuits and gravy are the best. The restaurant is charming. It has a wonderful cottage feel in decorum. The restaurant is very clean and comfortable. Most of the food on the menu is your standard breakfast fare but the biscuits are really really good. If you go there.... just say biscuits and gravy please.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor Service and questionable cleanliness”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

the waitresses were arguing in front of the customers (and they had a full house) and then our waitress smelled liked she hadn't bathed in a week and looked extremely unkept. She was rude and obviously mad.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Always Wonderful Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Blue Plate never lets me down when I'm craving good breakfast food. Pancakes, waffles, whatever you want - it's all great! I highly recommend it. It gets busy, but they know how to move the crowds through.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Plate Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Blue Plate Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Plate Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.