We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biscuit rating alone would be a 5” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Plate Cafe

Blue Plate Cafe
5469 Poplar Ave, Memphis, TN 38119-3705
901-761-9696
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 1,349 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
New Baltimore, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Biscuit rating alone would be a 5”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had an early flight on Sunday morning, and were looking for a decent locals b fast around 7am. Found this on trip advisor and while not anything else (other than a chain, Perkins), was open we stopped. So glad we did! Service was not overly mushy friendly, but very very efficient. She even had us laughing, and my coffee cop never went empty. The grits and breakfast biscuits were truly the highlight! And good coffee to boot! We will be back on our next visit for sure! Downside was the over easy eggs were a but over done, and hubby thought the gravy was a but too peppery- but I will admit, we are northerners! Again biscuits were the fluffiest, and best we have had- even better then his southern Mammas!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LMT_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast in Memphis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Biscuits, gravy, waffles, pancakes, ham, sausages and coffee. All good and served with a smile. I would eat here everyday if I lived in Memphis.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GaryR547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Biscuit Time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Omg!!! The biscuits and gravy are the best. The restaurant is charming. It has a wonderful cottage feel in decorum. The restaurant is very clean and comfortable. Most of the food on the menu is your standard breakfast fare but the biscuits are really really good. If you go there.... just say biscuits and gravy please.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mimimick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor Service and questionable cleanliness”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

the waitresses were arguing in front of the customers (and they had a full house) and then our waitress smelled liked she hadn't bathed in a week and looked extremely unkept. She was rude and obviously mad.

Helpful?
1 Thank travelfun4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always Wonderful Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Blue Plate never lets me down when I'm craving good breakfast food. Pancakes, waffles, whatever you want - it's all great! I highly recommend it. It gets busy, but they know how to move the crowds through.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Plate Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Blue Plate Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing