We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Wonderful Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Plate Cafe

Blue Plate Cafe
5469 Poplar Ave, Memphis, TN 38119-3705
901-761-9696
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #142 of 1,199 Restaurants in Memphis
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Always Wonderful Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Blue Plate never lets me down when I'm craving good breakfast food. Pancakes, waffles, whatever you want - it's all great! I highly recommend it. It gets busy, but they know how to move the crowds through.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    70
    19
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Ok/Standard Food, Service! Not so much!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Recommended by friends and Trip Advisor, this establishment had ok breakfast food but service was not good.....Coffee not refilled without having to ask,and when you do ask, the waitresses breathe heavy sighs and appear put out when helping other customers besides their own. I was disappointed and would not rush back or drive through the city for this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great breakfast and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Breakfast for hungry farmers and ranchers. For all others enough for the whole day. Great food and great service

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not a good experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Had lunch at Blue Plate Cafe in East Memphis today. The dining room was dirty-/ floor unswept. We were a bit after the lunch crowd. Our server began promptly, then ignored us after the food came out. Had the fried chicken with two sides- chicken was overlooked and tough, sweet potato was burned on the bottom and ice cold inside, and green beans were lackluster with no flavor. I've been here in the past, and the service and food was better. This was a poor experience at best. Won't be back for awhile if ever.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best place for breakfast in the South!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Of the two locations in Memphis I prefer the Court Sq. one downtown. The breakfast is HUGE- and you can get it all day!! You don't have to eat for the rest of the day. I'm not wild about the sausage they serve but the omelets and pancakes are great. Be sure and try the biscuits and gravy that come with every order. Yum!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Plate Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Blue Plate Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Plate Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.