We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Ribs!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blues City Cafe

Blues City Cafe
138 Beale St, Memphis, TN 38103-3712
901-526-3637
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Blues City Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 1,271 Restaurants in Memphis
Price range: $15 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 2ND STREET
Transit: Bus and Taxi pick up and drop off are done directly across the street from our front door along with a Trolley Stop about one block away.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Yummy Ribs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We asked a local for the bst BBQ and they told us for ribs the place to go is Blues City Cafe! Go figure a place on Beal Street! Food was great, staff was great and we enjoyed the cold beer on a hot day!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    367
    132
    27
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great time! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stopped in here during The Beale Street Music Festival. I figured it would be hard to get a table, but our party of seven was seated quickly. The place was packed! Drinks arrived quickly, and we ordered shortly after. The ribs are great, but the catfish was the real winner. The catfish was so tender that I literally had to eat it with a fork. Everyone at the table enjoyed their food. It was a great experience and we will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Right place at a great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Best ribs that I had in Memphis. The 1/2 rack was a very generous size as opposed to Rendezvous which consisted of only 5 bones.The full rack was huge. The baked beans and coleslaw were also good as well . The sides were small on the combo rib platter but filling none the less. The BBQ cheese fries were piled high with toppings and very tasty. The sausage and cheese platter was more than enough for 2 people. Would definitely return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“No Regrets...Late Nite Binge!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

There is almost a guarantee that you'll love the food. The ribs are my favorite. The skillet shrimp are scrumptious. The sausage and cheese plate is the best. A must try if you haven't already.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann, Missouri
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Ribs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We were greeted outside the restaurant by a very friendly gentleman, who guided us to the hostess to be seated inside. Excellent service by Elizabeth, who helped us select the great food that she served to us. The ribs that I had were excellent. My parents and sister's food was good as well. There was plenty of food. Nice experience - we'd go there again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blues City Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Blues City Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blues City Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.