We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ribs, poor service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blues City Cafe

Blues City Cafe
138 Beale St, Memphis, TN 38103-3712
901-526-3637
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Blues City Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 1,198 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Late Night Food, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 2ND STREET
Transit: Bus and Taxi pick up and drop off are done directly across the street from our front door along with a Trolley Stop about one block away.
Lawrence, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good ribs, poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The waiter told us that they had the world's best ribs but couldn't really provide any details about the preparation (or did not want to converse). The ribs were really good and tender but I'm not sure that these are the best in the world, haha. Personally, I like it more spicy but they had good hot sauce available. We also had fried catfish with a very boring batter. The waiter was very disinterested, never even gave us a choice of sides, just brought the food with fries (which were actually really good). Wine is served in plastic cups. Waiter never asked if we wanted anything else but dropped the check as soon as we had emptied our plates. We pretty much got kicked out in the rain, and the place wasnt even busy at that time. Would not go back there, but I would still recommend to have the ribs if you are on a BBQ tasting trip.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    519
    415
    158
    33
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We were staying at the Peabody downtown Memphis,The area is still in a recession, The valet said to try blue city BBQ , there was no waiting for a dirty table, so we asked to have it cleaned by grumpy waitress, she must hav been the owner the way we were treated only the owner would car if you ever come back, So after our table finally got clean enough to touch, I ordered the full slab of ribs waiting to be asked what kind they were I was told you don't get a choice, Then I was told I didn't want fries could I have boiled potatoes, no you may not they would have to come as. Side, I said fine, Then my wife ordered ??? Chicken ns salad , after the waitress took our order a second or to later I told her to forget about the order so we left, we dined back at our hotel food and service was excellent all three nights. H downtown bealle street area was protected by police as it's a crime area you are scanned for weapons trying o go to the tourist areas in search of bars, shops and restaurants stay away from bealle street

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This isn't the BBQ around, although the stuffed mushrooms were great. The ribs and pulled pork and sides were okay. We got talking with the guys who worked there late one night as we waited for our order and they were great, super friendly and very helpful. Where else can you order BBQ at 1.30 in the morning and go pick it up. The gumbo was good actually.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The total southern/blues/BBQ experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

The food was delish!! The gumbo, my personal fav, although the ribs are to die for too. The complete Beale Street experience, and good. What more could you ask for? Doug treated us like royalty and that's priceless!! Def check it out. Anyone visiting Beale must give it a try!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Indiana
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Memphis ribs!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Best ribs I have ever had!!! I noticed that my clothes seemed to smell like the place along time after I left:(

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blues City Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Blues City Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blues City Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.