We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Little Juke Joint” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blues City Cafe

Blues City Cafe
138 Beale St, Memphis, TN 38103-3712
901-526-3637
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Blues City Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 1,271 Restaurants in Memphis
Price range: $15 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 2ND STREET
Transit: Bus and Taxi pick up and drop off are done directly across the street from our front door along with a Trolley Stop about one block away.
Chapel Hill, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Little Juke Joint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Best Memphis style ribs!!! Catfish was also excellent! We came back later in the evening and enjoyed some music and a hearty Soul stew (beef stew). Abundous quantity, great price...best food around on Beale.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blues City Cafe o, Guest Relations Manager at Blues City Cafe, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Blondie37tn

Thank You for your recent visit to our Restaurant; and for taking the time to post your experience.

We would love to have you back! The Blues City Cafe family is really blessed to have customers like you and hope that you visit us back again soon!

Best Regards,

Martha Smith
martha@bluescitycafe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    367
    132
    27
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Go for the atmosphere more than the cuisine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Middle of the day is not the best time to catch the Blues City Cafe as this place is all about atmosphere and a rainy Thursday made it very quiet. Solid Southern fayre, very reasonably priced.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious tamales and amazing ribs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The food was excellent here! And the staff was friendly, courteous, and nice. The price was right, too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“a real taste of the South and Southern hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I was a walk in diner, I was seated right away at a table near the bar. A Solo traveller I was wonderfully looked after by my waiter/barman who helped me select 3 courses and a drink to go with each course. The food was still do this day some of the best meals I've ever eaten! The service was amazing and worth every penny. You have to eat the Apple Dumpling for desert!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Seafood Au Gratin is their Best-Kept Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Seafood Au Gratin Dip is an appetizer, but I always order it as an entree! Love this stuff. They have amazing ribs and tamales as well. You really can't go wrong with the wide range of things on the menu and the fun atmosphere and interesting crowd. A Beale Street staple for sure.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blues City Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Blues City Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blues City Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.