We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average food in tourist mecca” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blues City Cafe

Blues City Cafe
138 Beale St, Memphis, TN 38103-3712
901-526-3637
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Blues City Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 1,271 Restaurants in Memphis
Price range: $15 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 2ND STREET
Transit: Bus and Taxi pick up and drop off are done directly across the street from our front door along with a Trolley Stop about one block away.
farm
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Better than average food in tourist mecca”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I usually avoid these locations for food because it is often over-priced and under-whelming. This place has really good ribs etc.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    367
    132
    27
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“The funnest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

OK, that's not a word, but it accurately describes the experience my 6 fellow business travelers and I had on a rainy Sunday night. No reservation, no wait, a cheerful welcome and straight to a table in this authentically seedy-looking honky tonk place. Most of us had the combo plate of ribs and fried catfish. The ribs were good, the catfish was awesome. One member had a steak so good everyone assisted him with finishing it. Service was prompt and caring. No room for dessert but we still had to try the apple dumpling, a lovable, buttery mound of deliciousness served piping hot in a sizzling cast iron mini-skillet, topped with vanilla ice cream. We split one order seven ways, with the cheerful cooperation of our server. You can't beat the prices, either. Cross the street after dinner to hear a set at the B.B. King's for the final chill-out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Convenient location on Beale St., had the ribs and they were pretty tasty. A little pricey compared to what I'm used to but average cost for the area.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville, kentucky
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“I liked it - My companion didn't”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Blues City Cafe claims to have some of the world's best tamales and I have to admit, they were pretty good. Three beef tamales came rolled in cornmeal, wrapped and steamed piping hot for only $4.75. The tamales were on the small side so i ordered a chopped salad that was quite fresh and pretty good.

My friend ordered 'Beale Streets Best BBQ Ribs' and promptly sent them back saying they were too dry. I thought they had a decent flavor but admittedly there wasn't much sauce. She then chose the Southern Fried Chicken Tenders and seemed pretty satisfied with those. If you find yourself on Beale Street and want a quick, reasonably priced lunch, you'll do okay with the Blues City Cafe.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good, but not as perfect as the hype.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Fast, attentive service for very little wait. Super naughty food, with very little alternative. Greats prices! Atmosphere was okay, but definetely not date worthy. If you like fatty, southern food, this place is for you.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blues City Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Blues City Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blues City Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.