We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good creole food in Tennessee.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bayou Bar & Grill

Bayou Bar & Grill
2094 Madison Ave, Memphis, TN 38104 (Midtown)
(901) 278-8626
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #114 of 1,272 Restaurants in Memphis
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Midtown
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Very good creole food in Tennessee.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

The food at this bar/restaurant was very good and certainly worth trying if you like creole type cooking with a sufficient level of "hotness" as to make an impression without leaving any lasting hot aftertaste. The portions are very large so soup and/or appetizers are not necessary unless you want to come away really overfull.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    18
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Once again I had a great experience at the Bayou Grill. I usually eat Sunday brunch when in the area at the Bayou Grill, but this trip I stopped in for an early evening Sunday meal. We sat outside on the patio and enjoyed the great neighborhood vibe this place has. We ordered the bacon wrapped stuffed crab shrimp, a muffuletta sandwich and the club sandwich. Everything tasted great!! The whole muffuletta sandwich is gigantic so be prepared to take some home with you. When we ordered the muffuletta we asked for the dressing on the side but were told the sandwiches were pre-made so they couldn't make one without the dressing on it? We really like this place and the muff wasn't too soggy the next day when I ate it for lunch. This place is definitely a place to check out if you like Cajun food

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova, Tennessee
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great way to bring New Orleans to you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Great service, clean,inside is a bit dark, however I always like to sit on the patio. It doesnt matter what you order, I havent had a bad dish or drink yet! great for gathering with friends and family :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Mid-Town Memphis Cajun Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Nice location on Madison in mid-town Memphis. Outside seating looked nice in the evening, but the music was too loud for conversation so, we sat inside where it was quiet an we could have a conversation. The inside is more like a low light bar atmosphere - without the smoke - complete with Louisiana wall hangings and mardi gras beads hanging from the rafters. Nice casual atmosphere.

The waitress was very friendly and very attentive. I had the stuffed shrimp - wrapped in bacon and it came with a bowl of creamed spinach and piece of fresh french bread. My wife had the muffaletta which she enjoyed very much. I believe the waitress told us that the bread was shipped in from Gambino's bakery (in New Orleans).

Being born and raised in Louisiana and having dined in New Orleans many times, the food here is not as good as what you would experience at some of the better restaurants there. However, the food here is still very good and I do look forward to going back to try their versions of jambalaya and etouffee'.

Looks like they had a crawfish boil back in late April or early May - sorry I missed that.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good service good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Service is good and so is the food. I always like coming here. Best Cajun food in the Memphis area. But for some reason the ghost river beer is always flat. My favorite beer but not when flat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayou Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Bayou Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayou Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.