We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect bbq” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar-b-q Shop Restaurant

Bar-b-q Shop Restaurant
1782 Madison Ave, Memphis, TN 38104-2642 (Midtown)
901-272-1277
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 1,271 Restaurants in Memphis
Price range: $10 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Neighborhood: Midtown
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A perfect bbq”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Nothing else to say. I went there with some friends and we split in two groups because they were unable to accomodate the 9 of us. The place was crowded as it was a Sat night.
I had the brisket dinner which is a large serving of meat with slaw, beans and toasts.
It was really good and the service was excellent.
Go and try yourself if you have a chance!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    47
    15
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Best Ribs in Memphis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

One of the best ribs in Memphis .
Order the dry Memphis ribs,3 different sauces on the table from very hot to their own mustard base.
Ribs are well smoked,pink almost to the bone,tender and moist.
Coleslaw and baked beans very tasty.
Service attentive and efficient. Visited Saturday at Lunch time,place was packed,did not effect the service,well worth the visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“This is THE BEST in Memphis. Locals go here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

As I said this is where locals go to get their veins stained with some excellent BBQ.
Wet or dry ribs. I'll take the dry ribs. The best BBQ spaghetti you'll ever eat! Old wooden floor, old Memphis style. When you arrive and get out of the car , you smell it and know you have arrived at a serious no play pretend non touristy BBQ house.
Park in the back. Go on in the back corner entrance and let them take care of your ever epicurious need. Out of this world!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best ribs in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

A very tough claim with all the BBQ places in and around Memphis. I have found them to be the most reliable go-to for ribs. The meat is moist and very flavorful, It pulls off the bone nicely but doesn't just fall on your plate. I happen to be a huge fan of their regular sauce, although my wife prefers a sweeter style. (The hot is: well ; HOT !!!). The slaw is very good as well. Try a little sauce in the beans and you have a real winner. The building has been a BBQ joint for 50 plus years. The atmosphere is appropriate for an old school BBQ shop. I have always experienced good service here and good food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best BBQ sandwich in Memphis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Everyone has his or her favorite BBQ place. When I'm in the mood for a BBQ pork sandwich, this is where I'm headed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar-b-q Shop Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bar-b-q Shop Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar-b-q Shop Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.