We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BBQ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tops Bar-B-Q - Macon Rd

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tops Bar-B-Q - Macon Rd
6130 Macon Rd, Memphis, TN 38134 (Walnut Grove - Shelby Farms PD)
(901) 371-0580
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #217 of 1,272 Restaurants in Memphis
Cuisines: Barbecue
Neighborhood: Walnut Grove - Shelby Farms PD
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Walnut Grove - Shelby Farms PD
MOBILE
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I'm originally from Memphis and have been partial to Tops food since I was a kid. No atmosphere, and limited seating, but the pork is reeeeeaaallly good here! Hamburgers are excellent, as well.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Mmmmm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

I love the food at Tops. Have been visiting all the locations since I was young and have never been disappointed

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiloh, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good hometown BBQ!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stopped in here after shopping at Bass Pro Shop. The location used to be a Toddle House once upon a time. Attentive staff. Walk up and order and they hand you a tray with some good grub! My wife had a beef brisket sandwich and it was succulent. Very tender with a delicate smoky flavor like you would expect. I had pulled pork with cole slaw on the sandwich. It was very good, but not as good as the brisket. Sides were very good. A great place to get BBQ if you are in a hurry or while out shopping.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
2 reviews
“Absolutely delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I would recommend this small, quaint, restaurant to everyone! The ribs and coleslaw are to die for!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermitage, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Decent price, decent taste/servings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Despite locals not giving this place a good review, my husband who really appreciates a good bbq rated this above FAMOUS DAVES

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tops Bar-B-Q - Macon Rd also viewed

 

Been to Tops Bar-B-Q - Macon Rd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tops Bar-B-Q - Macon Rd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.