We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B-B-Q” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tops Bar-B-Q

Tops Bar-B-Q
1286 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38104-3414 (Midtown)
901-725-7527
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #379 of 1,271 Restaurants in Memphis
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue
Neighborhood: Midtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Midtown
Ramsey, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great B-B-Q”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We were staying at the La Quinta and Tops Bar-B-Q is located just down the street. The parking lot was not busy and we wondered if it would be a good place to eat. While there the place filled with customers. You can eat there or take out. It is a very casual, small restaurant with booths, tables & chairs. The staff were friendly. The food is served on disposable plates along with plastic silverware. My husband had the bbq half rack of ribs with FF, cole slaw, beans & toasted bread. He thought the ribs were tender and tasty and the beans were good. I had the beef brisket plate along with cole slaw, potato salad & toasted bread. The brisket and potato salad were great. The cole slaw was a little bland compared to what we are accustom to. The meat serving size was very generous. The potato salad and cole slaw were served in small plastic containers which I thought looked skimpy, however in the end, there was more than enough. We were very full!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    21
    14
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Childhood Memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I remember as a child the family going to Tops to buy skins and the pull pork sandwiches with slaw on top. They use to put skins in the oven at home and douce them down in hot sauce and go to town. I wish we had one of these here in Michigan. Every time I go home I make sure I go there soon as I touched down. The closest thing we have here to Memphis bbq is Famous Daves, which I rank second behind Tops

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Stick to the Ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

On a recent trip to Memphis, I ate ribs at four well known destinations: Tops, Central, Rendezvous, and Blues City Cafe. Although this was the lowest brow of the four locations, I liked the Memphis dry rub ribs here the best. Compared to the other three places, the ribs here were the most aggressively seasoned. In fact, at Central and Rendezvous I couldn't taste any discernible seasoning beyond what I would expect from some salt and pepper and some time in the smoker.

My rating is based on the ribs only, since that was the focus of my culinary tour. I could knock a star or two off for the small sides and the flavorless chopped BBQ pork. But I would also add a star or two back for the ladies working behind the counter who took the orders and just cranked out the food.

I can understand why Memphis is one of the fattest cities in the country. If I lived near Tops Bar-B-Q I would be even more overweight than I already am.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Tired restaurant serving pretty average BBQ. We went for dinner but the place closed for the night as soon as we left at about 7pm.

I felt like we could have found better BBQ eleswhere.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“WORTH THE STOP!! Loved the BBQ and Burgers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We have passed this place for years and never stopped. Not any longer. It was quick service and great burgers and BBQs. Will make this a more frequent stop for sure.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tops Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Tops Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tops Bar-B-Q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.