We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best EVER Fried Chicken!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gus' World Famous Fried Chicken

Gus' World Famous Fried Chicken
310 S Front St, Memphis, TN 38103 (Downtown)
+1 901-527-4877
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 1,271 Restaurants in Memphis
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, South American, Chicken Wings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: At Gus's we're all about the food! Gus's restaurants are low-key with a southern flare where you will hear soulful classics emitting from the jukebox. Many people call Gus's a "blues-infused southern eatery." At Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken we focus on the chicken! We begin by using quality chicken which is treated to our special preparation techniques before being marinated in our proprietary batter. Once it's properly fried to a crisp golden-brown, we serve it up with a plate full of southern inspired sides and a cold beer or sweet tea. The result? Customers line up at our door before we're even open!
Danville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best EVER Fried Chicken!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Want to taste the best fried chicken EVER...head to Gus'! I don't go here for the service, ambiance, side dishes or location. It's the chicken! Best crispy, fresh, spicy, juicy chicken you will put in your mouth! If you find a line out the door when you arrive..WAIT! Totally worth it! Don't judge the outside of this place. It's a hole in the wall!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    829
    252
    79
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eudora, Mississippi, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“BEST Fried Chicken, PERIOD!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The original restaurant is great, a must visit place for anyone coming to Memphis. However I mostly go to their Southaven location now since it is closer. Their chicken is tender, juicy, and spicy. The sides are all plentiful and delicious. I skip the beans and go for the Mac and Cheese or the Slaw. Great, fast service and good atmosphere. Do not miss this on your trip!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Montana
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Crispy and spicy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Little hole in the wall location, limited menu, but still one of those must visit locations. Pretty spicy chicken, but sweet tea to wash it down. Friendly waiter, reasonable prices. Take home souvenir cup. Nice touch.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best Fried Chicken Anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We were in Memphis for the week of January 18-25, 2014 attending the Blues International Challenge events. We went to Gus' downtown location with high expectations after reading some reviews.

The chicken was fantastic. The coating is quite spicy and the meat was moist. Both my wife and I loved the chicken. As well, the prices are very reasonable (at least by Canadian standards). Lots of people were also taking food out.

This isn't a fancy restaurant but the place was packed when we ate there around 8-9 p.m. both times during the week. Although the streets are a bit dark, this location is safe and is in the downtown location. Locals advised us that it was safe to walk there.

When I go back to Memphis next time, I will go back for sure.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“World Famous ??? In who's eye's”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We went here I guess because of all the hype and marketing about it all being "World Famous" ..Back streets of Memphis, scruffy looking place inside and out .
Sevice was pleasant enough and the beer was cold !
Chicken was average to put it mildy, quite greasy and just Chicken really .. but we did get one extra freshly freid piece towards the end of the meal that was really nice ..so I guess the rest of it must have been in the warming tray a bit too long ..pity ! I didn't really go to get chicken that had been standing around for a bit !!

We ate ... It filled us up and was just Ok !! ..
Was it memorable ? ..No ! ..would I go Back ? - No ! woulkd I recomend it ..No ! ..

Stick with Kentucky Fried Chicken ..way better !!

Sorry . we were not impressed ! Good marketing though ..it sadly got us in the door !!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gus' World Famous Fried Chicken also viewed

 

Been to Gus' World Famous Fried Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gus' World Famous Fried Chicken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.