We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gus's Chicken is great!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gus' World Famous Fried Chicken

Gus' World Famous Fried Chicken
310 S Front St, Memphis, TN 38103 (Downtown)
+1 901-527-4877
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 1,199 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Chicken Wings, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: At Gus's we're all about the food! Gus's restaurants are low-key with a southern flare where you will hear soulful classics emitting from the jukebox. Many people call Gus's a "blues-infused southern eatery." At Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken we focus on the chicken! We begin by using quality chicken which is treated to our special preparation techniques before being marinated in our proprietary batter. Once it's properly fried to a crisp golden-brown, we serve it up with a plate full of southern inspired sides and a cold beer or sweet tea. The result? Customers line up at our door before we're even open!
Palmetto
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“gus's Chicken is great!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Well, most will agree, this chicken rocks. Lightly battered and so moist. We really didn't have anything I did not like at this restaurant. Went with family and grand kids. They love it. Real southern cooking, Memphis style. Try this place, I think you will agree.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    945
    293
    93
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilson, Arkansas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Our current favorite fried chicken.... IN 'DA WORLD!!!!!!ddddddd”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Yes, that's right; we eat fried meat.
And Gus' on Front street is the best there is... (now that grandma's gone).
It's such a dive, but constantly packed; so be ware... the wait is sometimes 30 mins.
One inside, there's not much to choose from ... except chicken... fried ... chicken.
It's a little walk from main street or beale. If you've got a car handy, I'd drive.
I know how much people love the 'rib' place; I do too... but to get all the vibe
you want from this graceful old southern town, do NOT miss Gus'.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
1 review
“Best Chicken We Ever Had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We enjoyed our chicken lunch with sides so much we returned for a second meal before leaving Memphis. I wish they would open a location in Metropolitan Detroit!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lived Up to Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We had heard the hype about the world's best fried chicken so we had to give it a try and we were not disappointed. The place is nothing fancy but the food is exceptional. Started with some fried green tomatoes and fried pickles. Delicious. Then came the chicken. Amazing. Crispy, flavorsome. We left completely satisfied. The staff were great also. Lets hope they open a store Down Under so we can enjoy it more frequently

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Crunchy spicy fresh fried chicken goodness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

You may have to wait to be seated. And you may have to wait a while for your order to be cooked. But you will be so glad you did. Order extra, so you can take some home. Meanwhile, enjoy the authentic, hole-in-the-wall ambience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gus' World Famous Fried Chicken also viewed

 

Been to Gus' World Famous Fried Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gus' World Famous Fried Chicken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.