We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Sekisui” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sekisui Midtown

Sekisui Midtown
25 S Belvedere Blvd, Memphis, TN 38104
(901) 725-0005
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sekisui Midtown is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #611 of 1,199 Restaurants in Memphis
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Madison Ave.
Memphis, TN
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Sekisui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Sekisui has some of the freshest sushi and the best ginger dressing in Memphis, and the Midtown location is always a good experience. Make a reservation if you are dining on a weekend night. AND - you have to try the Project Green Fork roll! It is delicious!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“tasty sushi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Good staple for midtown sushi, with some creative options. For just normal sushi I sometimes feel like going to the local upscale grocer offers just as good basic sushi at better price. My last visit I hate to say it but the hostess must have been um new and was totally clueless. Still the meal was enjoyable and the location convienent. Wouldn't rate it too high on the romantic scale though.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“My favorite sushi in Memphis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I've been here a few times, and they always have fresh sushi that's super yummy. Definitely recommended over the other Sekisuis. (You'd think they'd all be similar, but each one is completely different menu)

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We used to go there when they had the sushi boats, and then I would have given a lower rating. The sushi in the boats wasn't very good. However, when the sushi chefs make fresh sushi to order, what they make is delicious. I couldn't have enough of the tuna maki.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good but not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I ate at Sekisui Midtown for the first time Friday night, 9/9/11. The service was good, as was the atmosphere. The food left a little to be desired as did their prices. The roe on the pyramid appetizer was extremely "fishy" tasting and had an odd texture. The picy shrimp roll was almost too spicy for me and I love spiucy foods. My wife couldn't even eat them. For my money, the best place in Midtown Memphis for sushi is Do in Cooper-Young. Both the prices and food are better.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sekisui Midtown also viewed

 

Been to Sekisui Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sekisui Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.